• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weekend Recap

I got home from work Friday with a package waiting for me…

The HG mish-mash pack of Vitamuffins & brownies. Before this I had only tried the chocolate ones that my grocery store sometimes carries in the freezer section, so this was an exciting delivery. So far I’ve tried the triple chocolate chunk vitatop as an afternoon snack and it was AWESOME. I toasted it so the chocolate chips got all melty.. yum.

I meant to take pictures Friday night, but I’m still getting used to this so I forgot! My friend Amber came over and we worked out. I did 4.55 miles on the treadmill in 42 mins, biked for 12 minutes to warm up, and then did a lot of stretching afterwards. For dinner we had corn tortillas with vegetarian refried beans, reduced fat mozzarella cheese, lettuce, salsa, and light sour cream… plus some baked blue corn chips on the side with salsa, and the HG margaritas. They are seriously so delicious it’s hard to tell them from the real thing, and you can do them frozen or on the rocks. We had them on the rocks… mmm!

Saturday I woke up early to hit the gym and did 12 minutes on the bike then played around with the weights. I was the only person in the gym, which is the first time that’s EVER happened, so I got to try out some different things and not feel embarrassed. I used the weight machine where you can hook up different handles to, and tried out some different arm and upper body weights… not sure exactly what I did but felt sore the next day so I think it worked. 🙂 After that I did 26 minutes on the elliptical, and then whipped up a quick breakfast. I did egg whites with veggie sausage crumbles, cauliflower, and spinach. I also toasted an arnold thin and doused the scramble in hot sauce. yum.

After that, my boyfriend and I drove to my parents house in NJ. It’s about 3 hours from DC and the boyfriend is a chef so they wanted him to cook dinner, and that he did! It was incredible… He made a marinade of tomatillos (green tomatoes), red onions, red peppers, cilantro, parsley, oregano, the juice of 4 limes, olive oil, and some red wine vinegar. We marinated the mahi mahi in that for a few hours and then played Scrabble. I won! woot.

We also got some oysters and the chef shucked them and then put some of the leftover marinade on them and served them on the half shell for an appetizer.

Voila.. delicious!

For the main course, we had the mahi mahi baked with little neck clams and I’m an idiot and forgot to take a picture. We served the fish with tostones, which is where you take plantains, sautee them in olive oil, and then smash them, and sautee them again in more olive oil. Not the HEALTHIEST, but delicious.

There’s roasted tomatillos, red onions, and red peppers in the middle of the plate as well. We drank plenty of wine and then we played a Foodie Trivia game my parents had bought my boyfriend for his birthday back in December, and shockingly, the chef won..

Sunday we went bowling before saying goodbye and I had so much fun! I’ve recently rediscovered my love for bowling, I think largely because I’m not THAT bad anymore. I got a 111 but was beaten by both my dad and the boyfriend. oh well. We drove home and ordered Thai for dinner, and then watched Big Love, which is getting super intense!

Back to work today which is way less fun than the weekends, and I had nonfat greek yogurt for breakfast with fiber one, and then two mini bananas for a snack. They were SO cute and I wanted to take a picture but my phone wasn’t having it. For lunch I had a baked sweet potato with black beans and pineapple salsa, one of my go-to easy lunches. I had the vitatop with 1 small plum and half an apple for afternoon snacks, and then came home and ate a quick fiber one bar before heading to the grocery store. We were running low on everything so it was necessary. I made a quick egg white scramble as a pre workout snack because I was starving, and then ran for 4.4 miles in 42 minutes and did some ab work. After the workout I had a cup of skim milk and a random salad with iceberg lettuce, veggie refried beans, reduced fat mozz, and salsa. I also had two corn tortillas with the salad and will have a healthy choice ice cream sandwich for dessert in a little bit.. Gonna wind down and watch some TV… hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

One Response

  1. That dinner looks and sounds amazing!!

    Apparently my local grocery store now has some vitatops. I’ve always wanted to try them but never wanted to pay for the shipping. I’m so excited! Think I’ll go get some tonight. 😀

Leave a Reply

