• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Pescatarian

I realize I never really addressed this on this blog, just on my freewebs page, but for Lent, I decided to give up all meat, with the exception of fish. I am not a very religious person, but I have toyed with the idea of going vegetarian for some time. A lot of the meals that I eat are vegetarian as it, and I usually only have meat at most once a day, and usually less frequently than that. So, I’d been thinking for a while that giving up meat for Lent could be a great test to see if I can do it and how it makes me feel. I had a super indulgent weekend before Lent began, so I actually began a week ago today (one day early). I have to say I am feeling really good and think I should be able to stick with this pretty easily for at least the full 40 days. I am excited because it’s going to force me to venture out a bit more with dinners with my boyfriend, because he has a little bit higher demand for “meat like” things than I do. I’ve made Spicy Lentil Tacos before which he loves, but I want to take advantage of this time to try some new recipes and get some new staples into my diet. I am not sure exactly where this will lead, and whether I will go back to eating meat once Lent is done, but I’m enjoying it for now!

Eats for today so far:

Fage 0% greek yogurt, an XL Toasted Almond coffee from Dunkin Donuts with skim milk, and a banana. I love yogurt for breakfast and prefer greek to regular, but this is my first time having the Fage because I found it yesterday on sale at the grocery store. I must say, it was goooooood. Plus I knocked 4 of my GHG’s out because I have my multivitamin with water after eating breakfast! 😉

Leave a Reply

