• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Summer Rolls

Ever since reading on Ash is Fit about her Summer Rolls, I have been CRAVING them. So, today, I decided to run out and get all the ingredients to make them for dinner!  After the trip to the grocery store, I did a quick workout. I have a 5k coming up on Sunday called “Love the Run You’re With.” It was supposed to be on Valentine’s Day, but got postponed because of the snow. I wanted to do a test run to see how fast I could comfortably go on the treadmill and 5k loop is one of the options on the machine in my gym. I started out at 6.4mph for the first .5 miles or so, then upped it to 6.7mph for the next 2 miles, then upped it to between 7.0 and 7.5 for the last mile, finishing the 5k in 27min48seconds. I was really happy to see that time because my fastest 5k to date has been 28min 35seconds, so that is almost a minute faster! I will be so excited to finish the 5k in under 28 minutes on Sunday, so wish me luck! I also did 15 minutes on the elliptical after running on the treadmill for good measure.

Making summer rolls is really fun and hands-on! It’s helpful to get all your ingredients ready to go before you start doing the rolls because the rice paper is kind of difficult to work with. Here is my spread:

Cilantro, red bell pepper, bean sprouts, shrimp, and cucumbers. These are the wrappers I used:

The rice wrappers are crispy and almost plastic-like straight out of the package. You have to soak them in hot water for 20-30 seconds, then carefully take them out of the water, lay them flat, put your ingredients in the center and try to wrap it up. Even though I’ve made these before, it took a few tries to get it right because the paper can be tricky!

Ta-da! All together now…

When you get these in Vietnamese restaurants, they are usually made with rice noodles, not bean sprouts, but I decided to lighten them up and not use the noodles. They are very low calorie made like this and still delicious and pretty to look at! Definitely something I’ll be making again. I have three to bring for lunch tomorrow, and I put together a little dipping sauce for them with soy sauce, agave nectar, and fish sauce (kind of like dumpling sauce). Yum!

4 Responses

  1. These spring rolls look amazing! These are going on my list of recipe to try for sure!

  2. I love spring rolls–thanks for the photos and recipe! I can’t wait to try them with bean sprouts. Yum!

  3. Great site
    Thanks for everything

  4. I made these! SO good!!! Thank you : ) I also made a dipping sauce of Hoisin, Peanut Butter and water. Delish!

Leave a Reply

