• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Surprise Trader Joe’s Shopping Spree

I always love to see what other people buy in a trip at the grocery store (almost as much as getting a glimpse inside their fridge!) so I figured I would return the favor 😉

I ended up dropping my boyfriend off at work and there is a Trader Joe’s on the way home, so I decided to stop by. I didn’t want to go too crazy because I leave one week from today for Puerto Rico (!!!) but needed to grab a few things. I definitely ended up getting more things than I planned on, but that always happens so what can ya do.

Twas quite a successful shopping trip and here’s a picture of the goods!

  • Organic Fuji Apples
  • Organic Bananas
  • Idaho Potatoes
  • Clementines
  • Seedless Cucumber
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Fresh mint
  • Frozen whole kernel corn
  • Frozen edamame (shelled and in the pods)
  • Frozen maple and brown sugar steel cut oats
  • 0% Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Soy cheese slices
  • Weetabix Cereal
  • Whole wheat pitas
  • 2 Luna Bars
  • 2 PURE bars
  • Miso Udon Noodle bowl
  • Fire roasted tomatoes
  • Roasted red and yellow peppers
  • 100 Calorie dark chocolate bars

All of this deliciousness came for just over $40! I’m not sure which I love more; Trader Joe’s or grocery shopping in general. I don’t know why but I love love love grocery shopping. I usually go 2-3 times a week and make the rounds to different grocery stores. I am a big bargain shopper so I like to get whats on sale and go to several stores for the specific products they carry cheaper than other places. I also love to look for new healthy things that I haven’t tried before (this time – the udon noodle bowl, soy cheese slices, and the Weetabix cereal) and look as it as more fun than a chore! I know there’s gotta be other people out there who enjoy it as much as I do……

After the shopping extravaganza, I was hungry again so I decided to make a smashed black bean pita. I first saw this idea on Healthy Tipping Point with kidney beans. You basically smash the beans with a fork or a spoon and they stick together a little bit more than just whole beans.

I used:

  • 1 whole wheat pita
  • 1/2 cup seasoned black beans, smashed
  • romaine lettuce
  • sprouts
  • roasted red and yellow peppers

I also had a small salad with the romaine, sprouts, and roasted peppers. Plus, a cup of seedless red grapes on the side:

And mandarin sparkling water:

I’ve been reading Skinny Bitch for the past few days and while the language is a bit over the top (and I consider myself pretty hard to offend!) a lot of the information is quite eye opening, especially about the USDA, EPA, and FDA. I’ll do a full review on the book once I’m finished with it, but once you get past the offensive language, there is a lot of disturbing information in there about the government and its regulation (or lack thereof) of what we put into our bodies, and their ties with the meat and dairy industry. It’s all pretty twisted!

2 Responses

  1. hey, i just wanted to let you know that i also LOVE grocery shopping! i love the bargain hunting and finding new and healthy things. trader joe’s is great for that! i just started reading your blog and it’s very encouraging, so thanks 🙂
    – julie

    • haha glad to know I am not alone! Thanks for reading! I’ve been trying to update it a lot and am having fun with it!

Leave a Reply

