• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Love the Run You’re With 5k Race Recap

I’m done with my first race of 2010! And to be honest, it didn’t go as well as I was hoping. Next time I think it’s a good idea to try a newish activity the day before a race, remind me it’s not ;). I woke up this morning and my quads were so sore and after a few minutes I realized it’s probably because I decided to run on an incline yesterday on the treadmill. Because I didn’t want to go fast to loosen up, I was going at 5.6mph, which is a lot slower than I’m used to. It didn’t feel challenging enough, so I opted for the incline, but in retrospect, it probably would have been better just to go with the elliptical.

I woke up at 7:15am and made some coffee in the french press and frothed some skim milk. I gotta say that frothing the milk for my coffee makes such a huge difference in how much I enjoy it.. I really feel like I’m at a coffee shop but then I look around and realize I’m just in my apartment… sad story.

I even put a little pumpkin pie spice on top! For pre-race fuel, along with the coffee, I had:

1 Whole Wheat Thomas Bagel Thin with 1 tbsp almond butter and a sliced up banana. I ate it like a sandwich:

After having breakfast and coffee, I got into my gear and headed out the door!

It turned out to be way colder than I was expecting and even started flurrying. My friend was supposed to run it with me but bailed last minute, so I was there by myself which is always a little awkward when you have no one to talk to before or after the race! Then the race started and I just was not feeling that great during the run for some reason. Just one of those days, I guess, and my quads were really sore. I think I had put a lot of pressure on myself to go really fast so all the build up just didn’t pan out well. I just wanted the run to be over for most of the race. I much prefer enjoying the run while its going on.. maybe next time.

My official time was 28:50 which is a 9m17s pace, which is still pretty good for me, but not 27m48s like my treadmill 5k from Wednesday! They were giving away Coconut Waters after the race, so I grabbed… 4 🙂 I love free stuff, don’t hate.

I drank this and then had 3 clementines post race.

I tried unsuccessfully to get the skins off in one piece but failed 3x in a row. I still have a lot left in the bag so hopefully I’ll be able to prove my clementine peeling skills before the end of the bag.

I took a bubble bath and am now just having a relaxing Sunday. My quads are still really sore so I think I’m just going to take it easy for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

