• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Mezze!

I had in mind that I wanted to make falafel for dinner because I had purchased this mix at the store:

The mix just called to add water and was all natural so I was excited about it. But then my boyfriend suggested we add a few other dishes to the mix to make a mezze feast, which is basically the same thing as tapas but with a Mediterranean twist instead of Spanish, so small plates. We ran out to the grocery store and ended up making a spread that you would think we had invited a few other people over to enjoy with us, but that wasn’t the case… ha

He took over the falafel and ended up adding diced up zucchini and red onions to the mix in addition to the water, and made them into patties:

We then pan fried those with a little olive oil and nonstick spray

My boyfriend made a shrimp and chickpea dish and we picked up some dips and pita to go with the theme. I also made a tzatziki sauce similar to the one from last night, but with nonfat yogurt as a base instead of the sour cream. The sauce had the yogurt, cucumber, dill, garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper and went perfectly with the falafel. Here’s a picture of the spread:

I told you we should have invited some more people over! 🙂 That is forty spice hummus, toasted pita, fruit salad, tzatziki sauce, the chickpea and shrimp dish, falafel, stuffed grape leaves, olives with feta, and babaganoush (eggplant dip). It was incredible ,but obviously way too much food. At least I have lunch for a few days!

Here’s a picture of my plate:

I ate most of this and may or may not have gone back for another pieces of falafel. The only thing I wasn’t a huge fan of was the olives and feta mix that we got at the olive bar at the grocery store. It was just way too salty for me so I turned those all over to my boyfriend, but everything else was awesome.

My official chip time for the 5k came in after dinner… 28:50 which is a 9min17sec mile which I am pretty happy about. It’s my fastest 5k time to date so that is exciting but I definitely felt like I could have gone faster if I felt better during the run. Next race is April 11th, 6 weeks from today! It’s a 10 mile race, which will be my farthest race to date. I have done 2 10ks before but never further than that in an official setting, so this should be a challenge, but I’m actually looking forward to it.

Time to enjoy the last few hours of the weekend… Big Love tonight and this is the last episode before the finale!! Hope you all had a great weekend. 🙂

One Response

  1. I found another Beth! I am a Beth too, but go by Biz on my blog – for some reason my grandma wanted to call me Liz and I ended up being Biz!

    That feast is amazing and I actually have falafel’s on my lunch menu this week – its something my husband wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole! Luckily my store sells already made tzatiki sauce for $2 a tub – a steal!

    AWESOME TIME on that 5k! I have yet to break the 30 minute mark – some day though! You should be very proud though!

Leave a Reply

