• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Slow Down!

I was pretty excited when I was setting my alarm last night and realized I got to sleep in/didn’t have to be into work until 10:30am today! I had requested to use the last 1.5 hours of comp time from my conference last month (because you have to use it within 30 days) and it slipped my mind. That allowed for a leisurely morning, so I woke up at 8:30am and watched the Today Show while I sipped my coffee.. one thing I majorly miss out on from working in an office. As soon as I got up though, I felt like a 90 year old woman. My quads were SO SORE, literally it hurt to get out of bed, stand up, sit down, etc. Bad news.

I snacked on 1/4 of a large cantaloupe:

while I started making steel cut oats. I made two servings so I can bring one in for breakfast tomorrow, and mixed in vanilla extract and some agave syrup. I topped it off with 1/2 cup of fiber one, but the camera ate the picture. Watched a bit more of the Today Show and then headed to the metro and into work!

The day goes by so fast when there’s 1.5 hours less of it, really. For lunch I had leftovers from last night’s feast, reworked a bit:

I used 3 leftover falafel patties and one pita, and had it over romaine with sprouts. I also used a bunch of unpictured leftover tzatziki. Yum.

After lunch, my friend from work, Emily, asked me to go on a walk with her and I welcomed the opportunity to get out of the office. Sometimes I get really jealous of people who live in the country and have amazing trails to run on and scenic views out their door, but today, I was pretty appreciative of what’s right outside of my office:

Oh you know, just the White House! 🙂 We stopped and got some green tea at Starbucks before looping back to the office and the rest of the day went by like that.

When I got home I decided to do some low key working out to loosen up my legs and then do some stretching. I walked for 15 minutes, jogged slowly for 26 minutes, and then did 15 minutes on the elliptical. Afterwards I stretched for a long time, and I’m definitely feeling a lot better, though still pretty sore.

For dinner, I had been dying to use these Soba Noodles I bought:

I also had some pre-cubed tofu and some frozen Chinese Stir-Fry Veggies (Broccoli, Carrots, Mushrooms, Onions, Red Pepper, Water Chestnuts, and Sugar Snap Peas – awesome!), so I decided to make a meal of it!

I boiled some water for the soba noodles, and while that was coming to a boil, I sauteed garlic and ginger in some nonstick olive oil spray:

Once that got going a bit and started smelling fragrant, I added the tofu, along with a little veggie broth, fish sauce, and red chili paste:

I cooked that and stirred it all together for about 10 minutes until it starting getting brown and looked like this:

While that was cooking, I boiled the soba noodles and rinsed them with cold water. I set aside about half the tofu for lunch tomorrow, and then put half the soba noodles into the pan with the tofu:

In another pan, I heated a little of the veggie broth and then added the frozen vegetables. Once those were defrosted, I added them to the pan with the noodles and tofu, and added a little bit more fish sauce and red chili paste and mixed it all together. The result turned out great and was really flavorful, filling, and healthy!

Definitely something I will make again (and have tomorrow for lunch!).

I think all of have a few things we need to work on health wise, and one of the main things that I struggle with is how fast I eat. I tend to polish down food before I even realize I’m eating it, and it has been proven that there’s a delay between when you put food into your stomach and when your brain realized you’re full. I have always been a fast eater, and I’m sure this has contributed to my struggles with weight. Tonight, I tried a new tactic that I’ve heard can help – I used chopsticks to eat my dinner. It even went with the Asian theme…

Results? It definitely worked at slowing me down a bit, but I am pretty good with chopsticks because I’ve been using them since I was a kid, so I was still eating pretty fast. 😉 While I think I might try to use them more often because it did help some, I don’t think using chopsticks is a really feasible everyday thing for me, but we’ll see!

Only 4 more days of work for me until Puerto Rico!!! I cannot wait! 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Let me just say, you totally have cooler walks than anywhere I’ve been in Oklahoma! Whenever I’m in DC I am so excited to get to walk everywhere!

  2. Wow I’m so jealous of your walking views!! And what a gorgeous meal you made for dinner- I’d love that!!
    Puerto Rico will be amazing! Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

