• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Dinner Fail

Today was pretty uneventful… had leftover oatmeal for breakfast with 1/2 cup each yogurt and fiber one on top.. I ate the oatmeal cold, which I thought sounded gross when I first read about someone eating overnight oats, but I actually really like it! It’s kind of like cold cereal meets oatmeal, hard to describe unless you’ve tasted it, but definitely something worth tasting. It’s nice for me because when I bring it to work I can just eat it right at my desk without having to heat it up or anything. Lunch was leftover Soba Noodles w/tofu and chinese veggies (which were JUST as great for lunch!) and snacks included 1 cup of grapes, 94% FF popcorn, and a small red grapefruit. Not terribly exciting eats today.

After work I came home with the intention of doing a good, long workout and I was just totally out of steam. I did 15 minutes on the bike to warm up, some upper body weights, and then ran for 30 minutes. I was planning on running for 45 minutes but I just couldn’t go anymore, and then I got to thinking and realized it was day four in a row of working out. For me, three days in a row is the charm, and if I go one more day in a row my body begs for a rest day. So, I stopped running after 30 minutes and walked the last 15 minutes at a big incline (from 6.0 up to 12.0), and then stretched, a lot. I’m happy to report that my quads are feeling wayy better today – much less sore than yesterday!

I don’t know why, but I generally HATE stretching. I guess I feel like when I’m done doing cardio and weights, I’m done working out, and I just want to get out of the gym. I know a lot of people embrace stretching because they’re done with their workout and can just relax, but for me, I just want to be done and outta there! Something I definitely have to work on because there are tons of benefits of stretching, including injury prevention.

So then came the worst dinner in history. I barely even want to write about it because the taste has just gotten out of my mouth and I want to forget about it as soon as possible! The funny thing is, I pretty much love all food, so for me to find something I don’t like is very rare… I generally like tempeh, but I usually use the plain kind and put it in wraps or on sandwiches or just grill it, and add a bunch of other flavorful ingredients. I don’t have it that often but I was excited to try this kind that I found at Whole Foods:

Two servings in that package, lots of protein and fiber. I even read some reviews online that said the Zesty Lemon flavor was great and that a lot of tempeh can be bland.. but not this kind. Instructions on the package were to pan fry it in oil but I used non stick spray instead. I sauteed some garlic, red onion, and shelled edamame, and then added some fire roasted tomatoes. I put the veggie mix and tempeh over whole wheat couscous, made the second portion for lunch tomorrow, and then sat down to eat it:

It was AWFUL. Seriously, that Zesty Lemon flavor tempeh was so gross I couldn’t even eat it… can’t remember the last time that happened! I ended up eating some leftover falafel with pita instead, and then went back to try one more piece to make sure I did in fact hate it, and EW! I literally threw out the container that I had gotten ready for lunch tomorrow and then chugged a few glasses of lemon water to try to get the taste out of my mouth… yuck. They do have two other flavors – BBQ and Ginger, that I think might be more palatable than this one, but I’m on a self inflicted hiatus from tempeh for a little while. Better luck next time.

3 Responses

  1. I think most people embrace stretching because it helps prevent injury! You should reconsider. Relaxing is also good, and it’s great to think of that stretching time as a reward so the gym isn’t ALWAYS associated with work, but also a little relaxing.

  2. Tempeh is kind of hit and miss. I bought the bbq flavored Tempehtations and they are okay. Nothing great though. I got a good deal on them at the grocery store so I bought some packages and froze them. Tempeh tends to have a bitter taste to it and this was no exception. It’s kind of like the bitter taste is there but they attempted to cover it up with BBQ sauce. I haven’t tried the lemon kind and I guess I won’t! I am enjoying reading your blog.

  3. I too want to leave the gym as soon as I’m “done” (ie no more cardio or weights). Don’t know what to do about it, and I’m sorry to admit that a lot of times I forgo stretching. It’s best when I have my workout buddy because she never lets me skip.

Leave a Reply

