• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Best Lunchbox Ever AND One Whole Year

As I’ve mentioned on here a few times, I bring my breakfast, lunch, and all my snacks with me to work. This allows me to eat healthy, save money, and not have to stay at work the extra 30 minutes because I eat lunch at my desk 😛

I was looking and looking for a lunchbox that would hold enough things, and I found the perfect one! It is stretchy material so it can stretch out to fit whatever you put in there, it zips shut, its insulated, AND it folds down flat once you’re done so you can just shove it in your purse/bag. Take a look at how much stuff I can fit in there. Here it is zipped shut after I just got to work:

And here is everything that was inside

A takeout container with black beans, the end of a bag of salad, a grapefruit, an apple, frozen oatmeal from Trader Joes, three clementines, a bag of green and red grapes (changing it up!) and a sweet potato. Crazy that that all fits in there! I got this lunch box at Target for just $10! Highly recommend it for those of you who bring your breakfast and/or lunch to work.

Be prepared, rare sappiness ahead..

While I was on the metro riding into work today, I was thinking about what I have to do at work today, and then I realized, it’s March 3! One year ago today I joined Weight Watchers and it has really changed my life. And, it has definitely been the best year of my life. I could go on and on about all the things that have changed, but let me spare you and just highlight a few.

  • I’ve lost over 50 pounds!
  • I started running and now love it and have completed six races!
  • I completely transformed my diet and exercise regimen
  • I have transitioned into a mostly whole foods diet
  • I work out 4-5 times a week and feel like something is missing if I don’t!
  • I have been able to save money because I bring my breakfast/lunch into work every day instead of buying out every day like I used to!
  • I can shop in any store I want to
  • I feel so much healthier
  • I am so much healthier

I think its easy to lose sight of all the changes you’ve made and give yourself a hard time about missing a workout or having a slip up, but sometimes it’s important to sit back and pat yourself on the back for how far you’ve come. Sometimes. Over the last year, I have had more than my fair share of slip-ups and have eaten a lot of crap that I wish I hadn’t and felt guilty about the next day, but really, I have made some incredible changes in my life, and for today, I’m going to embrace them and be proud! =D

3 Responses

  1. I hope I can say those same things a year from now. CONGRATS! I’m still working on the whole foods/clean foods thinking. It still isn’t second nature to me, and the 100 calorie snack packs still beckon, but I am beginning to notice that I feel better, more like a healthy person when I reach for fruits and veggies and whole grains, etc.

    I also have to say kudos to you for eating at your desk. I don’t mind eating lunch at home, but when I’m at work I want outta there! I have bought a couple nifty lunchboxes so I might have to give it another try.

  2. Go Beth! You should be very proud of all you’ve accomplished this year! xoxo!

  3. […] lunch bag I bought at Target when I was in glorious Seattle? I got the idea from Beth over at her blog because I loved her lunch bag. I wanted the same one, but they didn’t have it so I bought […]

Leave a Reply

