• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Pizza, Pizza

I’ve been so busy wrapping up a the last few things at work before my big trip that the days have just been FLYING by and its been wonderful! Today was a gorgeous day out, too – it was sunny and warmer than its been in a while, so it felt good to get out and walk around a bit for lunch!

Though I had brought leftovers from last night for lunch, while I was walking around outside I saw this Korean cart that I have walked by many times and wanted to try, but I never carry cash and it’s cash only… but not today! I had $10 in my pocket and was so happy once I realized it and spotted the cart. It’s on 14th and K in downtown DC right outside the Corner Bakery. I talked to the girl working the stand and she said that all the food is homemade daily and its authentic Korean. I opted for the vegetable dumplings with kimchi, which is basically Korean pickled cabbage… very flavorful and figure friendly.

The guy at the stand cooked the dumplings to order, and the dumplings and kimchi together were only $4! My kind of price. Everything was INCREDIBLE. Soooo good, I savored every dumpling.

For an afternoon snack, I brought the last 3 clementines in the bag with me, and when I took them out of the fridge, I realized 2 had some weird spots on them, so I had to throw them out… Only one last chance to try to get the peel off in one piece and…

I did it! Yesssssss! Be impressed.

After work, I went to get a quick pedicure in preparation for Puerto Rico, and I had pizza on my mind. I was thinking about going to the store to buy some ingredients to make my own, but as I walked into the nail studio, I walked right past pie-tanza, a wood-fired pizza place. It was literally next door to the nail salon so I ran in and grabbed a menu to look at while I was getting my toes done. The menu had a bunch of great options, so I decided to go for it and picked out:

12″ Grilled Vegetable Pizza ~ roasted red peppers, seasoned and grilled eggplant and zucchini, sliced roma tomato and black olives with red sauce, mozzarella and fontina cheeses

Goat Cheese Salad ~ mixed field greens, minced red onion, diced roma tomato, goat cheese and toated walnuts with halved red crapes in a light oregano vinaigrette (i got the dressing on the side)

I ordered it for carry out and the timing worked out perfectly. I met my boyfriend at home with the goods and we dove right in. Here is my plate:

I may or may not have had a third piece of pizza  and a second helping of salad (most may). Everything was awesome and definitely a place I would go back for my next pizza craving. It wasn’t too too heavy like Domino’s can be, and there were lots of great veggies and tasty cheese on it. It definitely hit the spot!

Now I’m off to eat some popcorn while watching Pam and Jim have their baby!!!

One Response

  1. I’m so insanely jealous of your korean dupling cart.

Leave a Reply

