• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Two Things

Two exciting things to share:

1.) I got accepted into the Brooks I.D. Program!!

2.) I made an awesome dinner

I learned about the Brooks ID program from Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point and decided to apply. According to the website, Brooks I.D. stands for Inspire Daily. These two simple words guide the principles of the program. Brooks I.D. is made up of over 800 members who are active in their running communities and share a passion for the Brooks brand. They are runners who are winners in their own right: Winning their age divisions, accomplishing their personal goals, pushing their own limits, and, by extension, encouraging others to do the same. They are coaches, mentors, and leaders.

I am so excited to be a part of this and am waiting to get my race gear in the mail. You get a 40% off Brooks products if you get accepted, and I love their running shoes and can’t wait to try some of their other running gear. If you’re interested in learning more and/or applying for the program, you can apply here.

Now, onto food! After work I got home and was craving another green monster! I decided to add some vanilla extract and some frozen blueberries and was a little taken aback by the color it turned out…

Sort of black/purple.. seems pretty obvious now that I think back to the ingredients I put in there but I was expecting it to be green since there was so much spinach!

I realized that even though I went shopping yesterday (and spent over $60!) I really didn’t buy anything substantial.. mostly pantry staples and fruits and veggies. I got some okra that I wanted to make but wanted to do it with panko crumbs and I am so, so I decided to run to Whole Foods to pick up a few things to throw together for dinner. I found some boneless whole trout there for 7.99 a pound, and two whole trout were under a pound so this is something I will definitely purchase again! I also bought some panko bread crumbs, fresh strawberries, arugula, and goat cheese, among other things.

I washed off the okra, trimmed the ends, and cut the pieces into two. Then I put out two bowls, one with beaten egg, and one with the panko crumbs. I added salt and pepper to the bread crumbs and lined the bowls up so I was ready:

Anytime you are doing panko (or any breadcrumbs really), its good to have one “wet” hand and one “dry” hand. This helps you from getting egg into the breadcrumbs and getting everything sticky. I took the okra and dipped it in the egg with my left hand, and then used that hand to transfer it into the breadcrumbs. Once the okra is in the breadcrumbs, you switch to your right hand to toss it around which stays mostly dry. Then you use your right hand to take it out of the breadcrumbs once its coated and put it onto the baking sheet. It’s also really important to season the breadcrumbs so the okra comes out flavorful. After each piece of okra was rolled in the egg and breadcrumbs, they were oven ready:

I heated the oven to 375 while breading the okra, and then tossed them in there for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, you flip them over, and put them back in the oven for another 15.

While those were cooking, I took the trout and brushed on this great sauce we picked up in Puerto Rico that was made locally called Tropical Heat Wave in Passion Fruit/Sweet Pepper Flavor. I also added some salt to the fish, and put that into the oven once the okra were flipped and back in.

I also threw together a salad with arugula, strawberries, and goat cheese. We just put a little lemon juice and olive oil on it instead of dressing, and the meal turned out amazing!

The panko crusted okra was probably my favorite part. They get so crunchy and taste fried but are actually really healthy. The trout was so good too, and we used more of that passion fruit/sweet pepper sauce on it after cooking. Yum!

Now I’m gonna curl up on the couch and do some reading before bed… I’m feeling a bit under the weather so have given myself a break with exercising, but back to the grind tomorrow. Have a good night!

5 Responses

  1. Congrats on getting accepted to the Brooks program!

  2. Congrats on getting into the Brooks ID program! I’ve never tried their shoes but I so want to. My bro-in-law is in love!

    • Thank ya! I actually went to a running store here in DC for my first pair of running shoes and tried on a bunch of different brands of shoes. The Brooks ones fit the best and since they were my first, I’ve never turned to anything else. Love them!

  3. Congrats on being accepted to the program! That’s so exciting!

    Also, I am drooling over that salad! I ❤ goat cheese more than words can say.

Leave a Reply

