• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

10 Minute Dinner

Day three in a row having Green Monsters and I am loving them! I find myself getting excited about them on the metro ride home…sad story. πŸ™‚ Today I used some frozen strawberries, a small banana, 1 cup of light soymilk, and a few handfuls of spinach.

The color was pretty purple/brownish again, but it was delicious. I think I want to try to make them greener like my first go at it… My friend Emily suggested using frozen pineapple to keep the color instead of strawberries or blueberries… any other suggestions? I know it doesn’t really matter but my head seems to like them green πŸ˜‰

After the GM, I finally got myself back to the gym! I’m still not feeling 100% but I hadn’t run since last Sunday! It was a gorgeous day outside, so I toyed with the idea of going outside for a run, but I don’t have any well established routes in my neighborhood since I moved. So I went to the gym and ran 4.35 miles in 42 minutes, and then walked for 10 minutes at an incline. I also stretched a lot after my workout… be proud!

I was craving soba noodles all day and was super hungry after my workout, so I threw together a great meal in just 10 minutes! I boiled a pot of water for the soba noodles, and then I microwaved some mixed organic frozen veggies that I picked up yesterday at Whole Foods.

The mix had broccoli, carrots, onions, red peppers, mushrooms, and water chestnuts. I love using frozen veggies when I’m feeling lazy. While the noodles were cooking and the veggies defrosting, I chopped up a garlic clove and got out all the stuff I wanted to use for flavor:

Ponzu sauce (citrus flavored soy), fish sauce, minced ginger (1.99 at Whole Foods!), and the chopped garlic. I also drained a can of white beans, and drained the soba noodles once they were done (8 minutes). I added the garlic, ginger, ponzu, and fish sauce into the pasta pan and let it heat up, tossed in the veggies and the beans, then put the pasta back in and mixed it all together. I made 2 servings and set one aside for lunch tomorrow and had the other one for dinner:

I also had some arugula on the side with a little olive oil and lemon juice:

And some Poland Spring Raspberry Lime seltzer to drink

mmm i love soba noodles!

In other exciting news (not) I’ve been reading this hysterical book called Moose that my sister lent me when we were in Puerto Rico. It’s so entertaining and light and has made my metro rides to/from work fly by. I only have about 40 pages left so I think I’m going to finish it tonight but I’ll be sad when it’s over! I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something light and funny, and especially if you’ve ever dealt with weight issues because it sheds such a positive/funny light on her experience.

3 Responses

  1. I loved that book, too!! And…you totally made me crave soba noodles and veggies with those pics!!

  2. Aww, thanks for the plug! Glad you enjoyed my memoir! Though, I think I gained 4 lbs. reading this entry. xo

    • I’m shocked you found this! You are so funny. I just found your blog and have been reading it all day. And, we have the same last name πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

