• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Droid!

First things first…. I got a Droid today!! I am so excited to have a new phone. I was eligible for my New Every Two through Verizon yesterday, and I wasted no time. I got a pretty good deal on it though, considering it retails for 599.99 and with the online discount, new 2 year agreement, and the new every two discount, i got it for 149.99… not bad! I’m still figuring it out, but am very excited to have a nice phone! It supposedly takes awesome photos too, so maybe I can figure that out and not have to bring my digital camera with me everywhere 🙂

Onto today’s eats….. breakfast was sliced up strawberries, followed by overnight oats with yogurt.

My oats contained 1/2 cup steel cut oats, 1 cup water, vanilla extract, 1 packet of truvia, and 1/2 cup of fiber one. For overnight oats, you cook them the night before and eat them cold. I, too, was taken aback at the idea of cold oats at first, but then I tried it, and I really like them! It’s kind of like cold cereal meets oatmeal… and I really love steel cut oats but they take way too long to make before work, so this is the perfect solution. Morning snack was a new find from Whole Foods:

Vegan soy jerky… I found it last night and couldn’t resist because I love jerky and find its a great snack that really holds me over, but with the no meat thing it’s out as an option, unless you can find soy jerky! I actually loved this! It was Texas BBQ flavor and the texture really mimicked regular jerky. It was double wrapped for freshness, so the outside package opened to a vacuum sealed package inside around the jerky.. and it was very tasty! Definitely something I will purchase again.

Lunch was the old standby, a microwaved sweet potato with black beans and pineapple salsa

With raw snow peas on the side

I love this lunch because it takes no time to throw a raw sweet potato and a tupperwear of black beans mixed with pineapple salsa into my lunchbag. Not to mention, sweet potatoes and black beans are a match made in heaven…

On to conquering the last few hours of work so that I can go home and play with my new phone! 🙂 Hope your Tuesday is treating you well!

One Response

  1. Have fun with you new phone!

Leave a Reply

