• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Ravioli!

Ahh tomorrow is Friday. Thursday night is definitely one of my favorite parts of the week. 🙂

Afternoon snacks included popcorn

and a Fuji apple (last one!)

Once 5 o’clock rolled around, I did end up taking a nice stroll to Trader Joe’s. It’s about 12 blocks (or around 1.5 miles) from my office and it was perfect outside. I picked up the GM essentials and a bunch of other things I didn’t need (always how it goes for me at TJ’s) but left a happy camper.

I got home and experimented with my GM recipe and found one I really liked AND that’s really green. Woohoo.

This green monster contained 1 cup soy milk, 1 large banana, 3 frozen strawberries, frozen pineapple chunks, and lots of spinach. I realized that if I use just a few strawberries or blueberries, it’ll stay pretty green and still have the extra flavor. That probably should have occured to me earlier but that’s what experimenting is for.

I did a quick run to Target to get a few things, and I found some awesome snack bars.

They are all natural and delicious. I love it when the ingredient list is relatively short on snacky things. I ate one while I was shopping and I actually went back to buy another box – they were that good!

I came home to throw together a quick dinner, and I pulled out this ravioli I had purchased at Whole Foods over the weekend:

These were Roasted Vegetables Ravioli by La Pasta and were incredible. They are described on the front as “Roasted red pepper, eggplant, carrot, onion and zucchini wrapped in whole wheat pasta” and the ingredient list is so short! They are fresh pasta and need to be kept refrigerated, but cook in just 5-6 minutes. They were a little pricey ($6.99 for the box with two servings) but definitely worth it for a quick and delicious meal. I heated up some vegetable broth while the ravioli were draining, and added some white beans and mozzarella cheese. I would have used red sauce, but I was out! I put the ravioli back in with the broth, beans and cheese, and then added some fresh spinach and mixed it all up.

I also had a glass of Rioja with the pasta

that I’m still sipping on now. This meal took about 10 minutes to throw together and was really good. Maybe I’m onto a new theme here 😉

So excited that tomorrow is Fridayyy… I’m meeting up with some girlfriends after work and getting a new haircut Saturday (eek!!) so nothing crazy, but I just looove the weekend!

5 Responses

  1. On Sunday, we threw together cheese ravioli from Yes! Market with tons of sauteed veggies. I still have a mushroom ravioli from Yes! in the fridge. Its going to be Sunday’s dinner when I want some simple after wining and dining with the parents. Gotta love those quick and simple, but delicious meals!!

  2. I must have been semi brain dead yesterday because it’s called Toscana Grill (http://www.toscanagrill.com/). It’s on Clarendon blvd back in that shopping center with the movie theater and starbucks. One of my co-workers told me it’s always been some kind of Italian restaurant. I love the zucchini pasta (which I ate last night). I’m a vegetarian so it’s nice to have both vegan, vegetarian, and carnivore food options especially with non-vegs (ie most of the people in my life). Do you have any fave restaurants in this area?

    You also look fantastic! I lost most of my weight with Weight Watchers too and I recommend them to everyone 🙂 Have you heard about the Crystal City 5Ks (http://www.crystalcity.org/item/fit-and-fabulous-5k-fridays-return-to-crystal-city)? I want to sign up BUT I can get lazy with running sometimes.

    • Thanks for the compliments! I know exactly where you’re talking about but have never been! One great restaurant right across the street is Me Jama. It’s Lebanese food and has a ton of vegetarian options. I’ve stopped eating meat (only fish) for a litlte over a month. I originally gave it up for Lent (though I’m not that religious) but think I might stick with it.

      Thanks for the compliment!

  3. Beth,
    I just wanted to let you know that I recently discovered your blog via WW boards and I LOVE it. You are such an inspiration! I’ve been reading it religiously since discovering it. Thanks for all the helpful advice.

Leave a Reply

