• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Green Monster 101

Hi! A friend asked me to do a step by step “How To” on making a Green Monster with photos so they could see the process. I have been experimenting for about a week now, and this is the way that I’ve found it works best.

You start by getting everything together that you want to use.

My current favorite combination includes:

  • 1 cup Silk light soy milk
  • 1 large banana
  • 4-5 frozen strawberries
  • ~1/2 cup frozen pineapple tidbits
  • 2-3 cups spinach
  • ~1/2 cup ice cubes

You can easily change it around by using any other kind of  milk or fruit combination, but you always want to have something green. I’ve heard of people using kale instead of spinach, but have heard that the kale stays a little “chewy” in the GM even after being blended up, so I’m gonna hold off on that for now. Also, I’ve heard of people steaming the spinach first to release more nutrients, but I just use it raw. You also don’t have to use ice cubes, especially if your banana is frozen.

After getting everything out, I put the milk, banana, strawberries, and pineapple in the blender

And blend that together first to smoothie-like consistency.

Once the milk and fruit are blended together, I add the raw spinach. I use a lot of spinach (around 2-3 cups raw)

Then I use a wooden spoon to mix the spinach into the smoothie

Then I turn on the blender and let it do it’s job!

You see how there’s still green bits in there? I leave the blender on until all those green bits are gone and also add the ice at this point if I want it thicker.  It takes about a minute of blending to get all the ice and spinach broken up and it should look something like this when its done:

And then comes the best part, pouring it in the glass…

And drinking it!

Now I know some people probably use a slightly different process than that, but that’s just what I’ve found works best through experimenting. And, those of you who haven’t yet jumped on the Green Monster Bandwagon, I promise you they are delicious! You can’t even taste the spinach in them at all even though you use so much. You pack in a ton of fruit and veggie servings and its a great energy boost. Don’t slam it til you try it! 🙂

Enjoy!!

13 Responses

  1. Hi Beth,

    I saw this posted on the WW Message Boards and would like to try it. I am curious though about how much milk, pineapple, and strawberries you use? I’m assuming that you don’t measure everything exact, but can you give me an estimate? Thanks so much!

    Lindsey

    • Hi Lindsey – I use 1 cub of milk, 4-5 frozen strawberries, and about 1/3 – 1/2 a cup of frozen pineapple tidbits. I’ll actually put the measurements up on this post now that you brought that up. Enjoy!

  2. I was hesitant at first but now I’m obsessed with green monsters! Who would’ve thought a spinach drink could be so tasty!

  3. Drinking my first one right now! It’s SO delish. Strawberries and mango.. Thanks for posting the directions. I was hesitant to try before this spelled it out for me! (Found you through WW boards. :))

  4. […] I’m sure that has something (everything) to do with yesterdays 9.8 miles! I wanted to make a GM, but I realized I was out of bananas so decided to wait until later. I was craving another yogurt […]

  5. […] – Green Monster 101 […]

  6. […] Grocery Shop – buy ingredients for a GREEN MONSTER (see here and here and here!) […]

  7. Just found your blog as a recommended read on my Google reader. Look forward to following, especially bc we’re both DMV residents. Way to go on taking a hold of your life and accomplishing your goals 🙂

  8. Hi Beth,

    Just discovered your blog tonight while reading ELR. I am a huge believer in the Green Monster as well. I have one everyday and can totally feel the difference if I’m traveling and miss one. Yesterday I tried adding Amazing Grass Chocolate Super Food (amazinggrass.com) and it is amazing!! It really ups the nutritional value of the GM & tastes great too. My favorite recipe is a blender full of spinach, 1/2 Cf rozen strawberries, 1 T peanut butter, 1 C almond milk, splash of OJ & now amazing grass. Delicious!!!

    Best,
    Ginny

  9. […] Green Moster (see Beth’s blog for ingredients and prep) Mmmm green goodness Ready for […]

  10. […] cannot believe I didn’t try one of these before 2010! I did a tutorial on how to make one here, but they are such an awesome way to get tons of fruits and veggies in one go. My go-to is 1 cup of […]

  11. I can’t wait to try this! I am wondering what the serving size in and if you know how many calories are in a serving?

Leave a Reply

