• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Longest Run Ever!

After having the delicious green monster this morning, I made myself a bowl of yogurt before heading out the door.

This was:

  • 1/2 cup greek nonfat yogurt (Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 Weetabix cereal biscuit
  • 1 chopped pear
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

Great fuel before heading out for my haircut. That went pretty well, except my hairdresser said “I’m gonna do something different with it” after she was done cutting. She ended up blowing it out without a brush, leaving it straightish but with waves in it. I was happy with it, but am curious to see how it’ll look curly. Usually, since this place specializes in curly hair, she dries it curly with a diffuser.

After the haircut, I went into Dupont Circle to hang out with some friends and it was so crowded!

It was 82 degrees and sunny, so that explains why! I grabbed a Venti iced coffee with a splash of skim milk to sip on

And there’s the debut of my new hair 🙂

I headed home after hanging out there for a few hours while the sun was out. So nice to be outside on a day like today!

I wanted to do a 7 mile run because my Cherry Blossom 10 mile race is April 11th. My plan was to do 7 this weekend, 8 next weekend, 9 the weekend after that, and then the following weekend is the race itself.

To fuel up before the run, I had a PURE bar

Love these things. I brought along some Sports Beans just in case

And thank God I did! I took off on a new run today on the Mount Vernon Trail. I had heard about it but never run on it before, and it turns out the entrance to it is just about .1 miles from my apartment building! I wasn’t sure what was going to happen on the run exactly, but I figured there would be mile markers for me to try to estimate 7 miles. I set out on the run and was feeling pretty good, but the mile markers didn’t start for a while, and then before I knew it, I came towards the end of the trail and realized I was in Rosslyn. I turned around to run back home and it was getting really dark, and I realized I had probably gone a lot farther than I planned on. I felt great during the run, but when I got back to my building, I realized I had been gone for 1h35minutes, and I was expecting it to be more like 1h10min for a 7 mile run (or less). I came upstairs and went on WalkJogRun.net and mapped out the run, and realized I went 9.8 miles!!! Before today, I had run 7.5 miles twice, so this is the farthest I have ever run in my life and it was unexpected! I am really proud of myself and just hoping that I can walk tomorrow when I wake up. 😉 It’s never good to increase your mileage that much, but as it was getting darker and I realized I had probably gone too far, I didn’t want to start walking because it was getting really dark so I just wanted to be home. And since it was unplanned, I can’t be blamed, right? I did stretch a lot when I got home, so hopefully that will help.

After I got home, I drank 2 huge glasses of water, and threw together a quick salad

This has mixed organic baby greens, 2/3 cup organic sweet corn, 1/2 cup black beans, 1/4 cup shredded mozz, and some tomatillo salsa (green tomato). It was delicious and sort of just came together, but definitely a combo I will throw together again.

I’m so excited because now I’m feeling super confident about my 10 mile race coming up in a few weeks. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

