• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Lazy Sunday

Laziness got the best of us this morning so we decided just to stay at home today instead of drive back out to Tysons. Spring is officially here, so some spring cleaning was in order. Not the most fun way to spend your Sunday morning, but I definitely feel better and more relaxed in a clean apartment, and sometimes you just gotta do it!

I woke up really hungry today… I’m sure that has something (everything) to do with yesterdays 9.8 miles! I wanted to make a GM, but I realized I was out of bananas so decided to wait until later. I was craving another yogurt bowl, so I threw a different combo together for breakfast.

This bowl has:

  • ~ 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 2 small kiwis, sliced
  • 1 small plum, chopped
  • 2 weetabix biscuits
  • ~1 tbsp almond butter

Great combo. Have you tried these Weetabix biscuits? They are really good and crunchy, but don’t have too too much flavor. I ended up breaking them up and mixing them with the almond butter so it was kind of like almond butter granola-esque and was really tasty and crunchy. Yum! And, I got to eat this delicious breakfast outside on my balcony this morning – first meal out there of the year! That might have had something to do with the fact that today was the first day I cleaned the table out there this year…. but thats a whole nother story 😉

Good news is that I am way less sore today than I thought I’d be. My left knee definitely hurts a bit when I bend down but other than that I’m in good shape. I’m trying to figure out what I should do for a training plan until the 10 miler now that I have a 9.8 mile race under my belt… any ideas?? The original plan was to do 8 next weekend and 9 the weekend after, and then try to do 2 shorter runs (4-5 miles) during the week days. But now, I don’t really want to lose the mileage so I’m trying to figure out what the best way to train for it.

Such a gorgeous day out so I might try to go for a walk, maybe throw the ball around. I also need to run to the grocery store for a few things. Be back later.

Happy Sunday!!

One Response

  1. just my two cents, but you will not lose the mileage. you are ready for the race. just keep up with good runs alternating sprints with distance runs and you will do great!

Leave a Reply

