• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Mexican Casserole Night

This Garmin Forerunner is incredible!! One of the main pros for me on the treadmill over running outside is that I can keep track of my pace, but this Garmin does that for me outside. It definitely made me work a bit harder and it was easy to keep track of how far I went and how fast I was going. I got mine on Amazon.com and it was supposed to be 299.99 but I got it for about half that! It’s also great because you plug it into the computer and it keeps track of your workout history for you. Love it!

Today’s run:

Distance: 5.00 miles

Total Time: 47:26.58

Average Pace: 9:28

Calories Burned: 586

After the run, I rehydrated with this:

I had never tried this flavor before and I liked it. I think I prefer plain or pineapple but this one was good too.

I had been dreaming up a Mexican Casserole all day, and here’s what I came up with.

I used (for 4 servings)

  • 1.5 cups of cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup black beans
  • 1 cup whole kernel corn
  • handful of cilantro leaves
  • 1/4 cup 1% milk
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flower

I mixed all that together and put it into an 8″ pie pan:

In a heated 375 degree oven, I cooked it for 35 minutes, pulled it out and topped it with 1/2 cup RF Mozzerella Cheese:

Then I turned the oven up to 425 and threw it back in for 15 minutes till the cheese was melty and getting brown.

For toppings, I used pico de gallo, avocado, and cilantro leaves.

I also made a salad with mixed organic greens, cucumbers, radishes, and some of the pico de gallo.

Yum! It was really tasty and exactly what I was craving. I love making casseroles but I rarely take the time to make them. I’m so glad I did today because this was ooey gooey and delicious and now I have it for lunch tomorrow too!

I’m off to watch some TV and relax. Have a good night!!

7 Responses

  1. that look siiiiriously delish.

  2. Running with the garmin must have been so fun! I use my iphone to track distance and a polar to track my heart rate… nowhere near as fun as a garmin!

    That casserole looks so yummy. I was thinking of making something with rice and beans tonight but was too lazy so I’ll have to add this to the list!

  3. Yum, that looks good! I’ve started using coconut water in my fruit smoothies actually 🙂

  4. […] was leftover Mexican Casserole from last […]

  5. BETH!! The Mexican casserole looks like it came out delicious…when can we cook together?? Also – have you tried the mango or papaya flavored coconut water, i think you’d like it…

    • It did!! And I’d love to 😉 I haven’t tried those flavors yet but I’d love to. I looove coconut water. It rehydrates you so well after a run!

  6. […] Mexican Casserole Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)I May Turn OrangeExperimentsSweet Potato […]

Leave a Reply

