• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Small Changes = Big Results

Gina over at Fitnessista had an interesting post today about how to get started on a healthy lifestyle if you’re a newbie to the whole fitness/nutrition thing. It got me thinking back to my life a year ago (and the 24 years before that…) and how different that is from where I am today.

Right now, I eat a largely whole foods diet, consisting of mostly fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nonfat dairy, and lean protein like fish or tofu. Had you told me that I’d be eating like this a year ago, I would have laughed in your face.

When I randomly decided I wanted to be a runner back in April 2009, I could barely jog for 30 seconds without breaking into a wheeze and wanting to throw my body on the pavement and stop. If you had told me last March I’d be signing up for a 10 mile race in a year, I would have told you there was something wrong with your head. But just last weekend, I ran 9.8 miles straight without stopping. I still had to fact check that as I was typing.

I guess the point is, you can’t expect to overhaul your entire eating and exercise regimen all at once and be successful. You have to start small and incorporate gradual changes, or it won’t work. You’ll get overwhelmed and just throw in the towel, like I had literally done every time I tried to lose weight and get healthy before this past year. The small changes really do add up, and each time you choose an apple over a donut, or to go for a walk instead of checking your fridge again our of boredom, it adds up.  I still struggle most days with eating right and in the face of temptation (hello office kitchen full of delicious treats every damn day), but each time I overcome something, I give myself a small pat on the back, and it gets a little easier. Some days are harder than others, and I still have a lot to work on (I do basically no core or flexibility training) but I’m happy with how far I’ve come. 🙂

OK enough sappiness… for now.

Lunch was leftover Mexican Casserole from last night

Topped with some pico de gallo and a few chunks of avocado. I also had a sliced orange on the side:

Which caused two separate guys in my office (who did not hear the other say it) to tell me how delicious my orange looked. It’s just an orange, people! 🙂

Afternoon Snacks:

2 kiwis and a small plum (which I cut up on a saucer using an enormous knife…)

Cocoa Roasted Almonds… love these things!

And a huge Fuji Apple as big as my head.

I had a ton of fruit this afternoon because I had none this morning and usually have some with breakfast, but the oatmeal with fiber one was super filling.

I also noticed something… I like to snack, a lot. At least its on good stuff, right? 😉

6 Responses

  1. I love to snack! And I love the cocoa almond nuts. Plus the 100 calorie packs are the perfect size and keep me from going overboard 🙂

    Congrats on the 9.8 miles!! And good luck on the 10!!

  2. office snacks lying around kill me. Currently there are girl scout cookie boxes all over office as well as bowls of candy in front of the HR office. Every friday there are bagels, donuts and pastries in the kitchen. Every monday an unhealthy free lunch. So hard to resist a free meal that’s already there in front of u.

  3. Love this post! I’m hoping this will be me in a year. Way to go!

  4. Congrats on your run!! I wish I could run that much!

    I have heard so many good things about those almonds! I’m going to have to start looking for them!

    and that orange does look tasty!!! haha I have been on an orange kick lately and eating one everyday!

  5. Hi!
    You rock! How inspiring! Good luck with your continuing journey! I am trying to get more balanced whole foods into my life as well. I love to bake though! Luckily my husband eats most of what I make 🙂

    Those Chocolate almonds look perfect for a work snack! I have to find them locally!

    You were a very inspiring read this morning, thank you.

  6. Bethy,

    Try apple slices with a dusting of cinnamon and a few tablespoons of vanilla yogurt for dipping. You’ll think you died and went to viva la applelicous heaven.

Leave a Reply

