• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Good Morning!

Hi! Today is off to a great start. I woke up at 6:30 and went for a run. The weather was still cool but its going to be a gorgeous day, and I’m feeling so energized and happy I decided to actually get up when my alarm went off and not turn it off and stay in bed.

Today’s stats:

Distance: 5.01 miles

Duration: 47:56

Pace: 9:34

Calories: 567

Average HR: 165

Looking at these numbers compared to Tuesday’s run, its weird that my pace was slower (by 6 seconds a mile) but my average HR is higher (by 3 bpm). Hmm…

I’m trying to get more in the habit of running 1 or 2 times a week in the morning. I actually prefer running at night and feel good doing it after work, but most races are in the early mornings, and I think my body goes into shock from running first thing when I usually go through my whole day and then run. We’ll see how it goes.

Last night I ended up having an unexpectedly fun night. My plans got cancelled, so I ended up going to the mall after work on my way home and then wandered to the grocery store. I walked 1.5 miles home from the mall and decided to wait to do my run today to give my body some rest. My friend Jess texted me to see if I wanted to hang out outside since it was so nice, so Lianne and I ended up going over to her place and drinking some wine having some snacks. I was in charge of snacks, so I brought baby carrots, whole wheat pita, hummus, and a carton of strawberries. Random, I know, but it worked! I had 2 glasses of red wine and stayed there for a few hours. Fun!

During my run, I ate about half of these:

I didn’t love the taste of this flavor, but I really like these beans in general. They’re easy to eat, and the Lemon-Lime flavored ones taste really good. I have mixed berry ones that I’ll try this weekend for my long run, but if I don’t love those, I’ll stick with what I know and go back to the Lemon-Lime.

After the run, I was craving a Green Monster (didn’t have one yesterday!) so I quickly whipped up a huge one.

This Green Monster had 1.5 cups of light soy milk, a medium frozen banana, 6 frozen strawberries, ~1/2 cup of frozen pineapple chunks, and 2 huge handfuls of spinach. Definitely hit the spot.

Question for today… Do you prefer to work out in the mornings or at night?

Busy day today, be back later!

Also, today is the last day to enter the Stonyfield Oikos Giveaway… I’ll be announcing the winner tomorrow morning!

4 Responses

  1. I prefer to work out in the mornings. I love the feeling knowing that while most people are sleeping I am pounding the pavement.

    WTG getting out there this morning!

  2. right after work is the optimal time for me. i would love to work out in the morning (im sure it would be better than coffee at energizing me) but i am not a morning person. i really like to go to bed late and sleep as late as possible, and i know getting good sleep is just as important to my health as eating well!

    for me, going on a long walk, a short jog or the barre or pilates studio right after work is the only way i can stay motivated to get in a workout. otherwise if i go home first, im unlikely to get back out! lately, ive been making fitness dates (plans to meet with a friend to walk, run or catch a bikram yoga class) as a way to make sure i get in at least one workout a week. if i know i have a commitment to meet someone, im unlikely to let them down.

    WTG on the early run!

  3. Love getting my work out in early in the morning, really energizing.

  4. My favorite time to work out is mid-morning around 10 or 11. However, I work full time so that is only an option on the weekends!

    During the week I work out at night. Early in the mornings my body is too sluggish and tired to get anything productive done unless I’ve been awake for several hours. And I’m not waking up at 3am!!

Leave a Reply

