• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Hectic Day

Ahh how is it already 5pm!?! Today has FLOWN by, one of the pluses of being super busy at work. I just had a big big meeting at work and am happy to report that it went really well. phew!

I am so glad that I worked out this morning because I’ve only had one small cup of coffee my my apartment building and I’m still feeling erally energized. The downside is that I’ve been ravenous all day! Almost immediately after I got to work, I dove into this:

And mixed in ~1/4 cup of fiber one. I love love love this flavor of Oikos. yum. About an hour after that my stomach was still grumbling, so I had a big Fuji apple.

Mmm i love crunchy fuji apples.

And then lunch was something new. I rarely, if ever, have frozen meals, but they are just so easy to grab for lunch when you’re running late or didn’t cook dinner the night before… So today, I remembered I had just found this at the grocery store last week:

MorningStar Farms Lasagna with Sausage-Style Crumbles. The sausage style crumbles are my absolute favorite MorningStar Farms products, so I was really excited when I spotted this in the freezer section. The nutritionals are not too bad either (though it has way more sodium than I like). 270 calories, 6grams of fat (2.5 saturated), 6grams of fiber, and 20grams of protein. It just calls for you to heat it up for 5 minutes in the microwave, but the oen at my office is SO strong I cannot tell you how many things I burned before I finally caught on. I put it in for 4 minutes but stood close in case a fire erupted…

Verdict? So good! It had lasagna noodles, cheese, “sausage” crumbles, and veggies (mostly carrots and tomatoes) and “zesty” marinara sauce (though I’d hardly call it that). There wasn’t THAT much sausage so it wasn’t too too meaty, but it was definitely one of the better frozen meals I’ve had. Won’t be a regular thing in my diet, but in a pinch, I’d have it again for sure.

I got hungry pretty soon after that, so I had some more almonds.

And then I made another snack plate an hour after that:

1 small kiwi and a small plum:

And a banana nut vitatop

I’d never tried the Banana Nut kind before and it was good! It tasted the most like a regular muffin to me of any of them, but I definitely dig the triple chocolate chunk ones the most.  I’m happy to say though that it’s been a few hours since I had the fruit and vitatop and I’m still not hungry yet. I think I calmed the beast I created with this morning’s 5 miler. Hopefully.

3 Responses

  1. Yum, I love VitaTops and Morningstar products. I’ve been on a kick lately with the spicy black bean burgers on a sandwich thin.

    The chocolate muffins I think are the best but I do like the corn with a tsp of peanut butter on top. Yummy!

    Your green monsters look delish! I’ll have to try it.

    Thanks for blogging.

  2. i’m excited to try the new morningstar lasagna! did you try their sweet & sour chik’n? i did the other night, but i wish it was just sweet & sour rice. or maybe just half the chik’n. i’m hopeful that the lasagna will be a winner 🙂

    • i didn’t try that one but i saw it next to the lasagna… the stats make it only 5 pts and it was really filling and fresh tasting. have you tried the sausage style crumbles on their own? they are SO good.. even my boyfriend (the chef) loves them, and he hates that kind of stuff!

Leave a Reply

