• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

And the Giveaway Winner Is…

Good morning and happy Friday!

Last night after work I was wandering towards my friend Steph’s place looking for some quick food to grab, and I saw this placed called the Couscous Cafe on 20th Street NW. The sign outside said Falafel Sandwich and a few other things, and I walked by it, and then turned around and went back to get the falafel that was calling my name. I walked in and told the the guy I’d never been there, and he said I was missing out and made me the best falafel sandwich. It had fresh homemade falafel, hummus, lettuce, and tomatoes in a pita wrap and it came with a salad.. all for $6.99. It was SO good, but then I left my camera at my friend’s house so I can’t show you pictures until later. 🙂

This morning I had a doctors appointment who I hadn’t been to in a year and she didn’t even recognize me! It felt so good to be told by a doctor how much healthier I am and how proud of me she is. When I left the doc’s office, it was POURING. Luckily I had checked the weather this AM and it said chance of rain so I threw my umbrella in my bag, but as I walked to my office, I could feel my shoes getting DRENCHED.

There is literally water pooled in the bottom of these. Thank God for the 5 pairs of shoes that have accumulated under my desk…

On the way to my office, I stopped by Starbucks

A grande extra hot skim latte. I never have lattes (because they are so $$!) but this was a treat (and a reward-to-self for going to the doctor ;)). Once I got to my desk, I threw together a yogurt bowl for breakfast

I found canned organic pumpkin at the grocery store!! i like Libby’s pumpkin the best but cannot find it ANYWHERE so I was so happy when I spotted this in the store on Wednesday. I mixed 1/4 of a cup of pumpkin with 1/2 a cup of nonfat greek yogurt, and threw in some sliced up some strawberries and a Weetabix biscuit. Along with my latte this made for quite a filling breakfast…

And now, onto the good stuff.. the Oikos winner! I used the random number generator at random.org, and pulled #21…

HundredTenPounds: Subscribed! Carmel sounds fantastic!

Congrats Lisa! Please email your mailing address to me at bethklein@gmail.com, and I’ll have the Stonyfield people send out your prize stat!

TGIF! Anyone have any exciting plans for the weekend? I’m scheduled to do a 10 miler in the morning (though I don’t know if thats “exciting”) and then going to visit my boyfriends mom near Virginia Beach for the night. Should be fun!

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for picking my number! I’m excited to try it. 🙂
    Lisa

  2. LOL..I saw Lisa on your post and I so thought it was me 😦 Congrats to the other Lisa..lol.

    P.S. I have those same shoes that you had soaked in the rain and the same thing happened to me not to long ago..Funny!

Leave a Reply

