• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Double Digits!!!

It’s official – I ran 10.0 miles for the first this morning!! My first time ever crossing into the double digit run category, and it feels SO good. The first two miles were a little rough – it was super cold out and my Garmin took forever to locate the satellites so I was standing outside chilling to the bone while I waited for it to figure out where I was. πŸ˜› My knee was bothering me a little bit during the first two miles, but after that it was smooth sailing. I ran on the Mount Vernon Trail again, but this time went the opposite way from the way I normally go, and the scenery was beautiful! I’ve stopped listening to my ipod while running (mostly because I can’t find the charger for it) so its kind of nice just to pound the pavement and really clear my head. Here’s the proof:

Run Stats:

Total Distance: 10.00 miles

Duration: 1:39:47.82

Avg. Pace: 9:58 min/mile

Calories: 1184 (!!!)

So this run was a lot slower than the pace I usually keep, but I was going pretty slow for the first few miles because I was so cold (it was 34 degrees when I started, but wind chill was 26!) but after I thawed out a bit and warmed up, I was able to pick up the pace. I’m sooooo happy that I’m in the double digits now!! And, excited because I’m not sweating my 10 mile race thats two weeks from tomorrow. πŸ™‚

Pre-run I fueled up with this:

1 Thomas Bagel Thin toasted with 1 tbsp dark chocolate dreams peanut butter and some sliced strawberries. yum! I brought these along for fuel on the run (190 calories)

I ate all but one of them. I liked these.. they kind of remind me of those little gummy coke bottles I used to get at the penny candy store when I was kid (anyone??) but they are a lot bigger than the jelly beans so a little harder to eat while running. I liked the flavor though and would definitely try them again. Post run, you’ll never guess what my body was craving…

A Green Monster! This one was the usual… light soy milk, 4 frozen strawberries, frozen banana, a few frozen pineapple chunks, and lots of spinach. I needed a bit more liquid once I started blending it because it was too thick so the blender was getting stuck, and I had used the last of the milk and had no juice or anything. The only option was water, so I added a little, and it actually worked and you couldn’t even tell there was any water in it. Good to know!

After my GM, my boyfriend threw together breakfast sandwiches for us.

This breakfast sammie has:

  • A toasted arnold thin
  • 1 over easy egg
  • 1 slice of soy cheese
  • Morningstar Farms sausage style crumbles

So good! I love these sausage style crumbles.. they seriously taste like the real thing.

We are off to visit my boyfriends mom for the night so have a few hour car ride ahead of us and will be staying at a hotel tonight. I packed my gym clothes in case I want to go loosen up the morning, but I’m going to play it by ear. I won’t have any internet access so it’s going to be impossible for me to check in, but I’ll be back tomorrow afternoon/early evening.

Happy Saturday!!!

5 Responses

  1. Congratulations on the ten miles πŸ™‚ I love the Mt. Vernon trail! It’s so gorgeous. I also love running through Georgetown through all the people especially in case I need to stop and use the restroom.

    Have fun at your mom’s house!!

  2. Wow! Congrats on 10 miles, that’s HUGE! & the post-run food looks so tasty… ahh… wheaty good-ness with chocolate and strawberries… how I crave thee!

    Awesome blog, take care!

  3. Congrats on the mileage – how awesome are you?!?
    If you like the crumbles, you should try Morningstar’s maple sausage patties; they’re freaking awesome!

  4. Congrats on the ten miles!!!

    How long do you wait before you start running after eating?

Leave a Reply

