• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back in the District

Hi! I just got back to DC and am happy to be home and relaxing for a few hours before going to sleep! I ended up sleeping in really late today (~10:30am) so had no time for the gym because we had to run to the grocery store and then over to my boyfriends mom house to whip up brunch. We ended up staying up later than planned last night, so I didn’t blame myself for sleeping in.. plus, its Sunday and I ran 10 miles yesterday sooo…

For brunch, we decided to make blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, grits, bacon & sausage (not for me), and some fruit. We picked up this awesome pancake and waffle mix

It made really fluffy pancakes, and all we had to do was add water or milk (we used 1/2 and 1/2 and it worked great). I want to try to find this mix at a grocery store around here. I hadn’t had pancakes in so long!

We also got Hodson Mill’s corn grits

Which was also super easy to put together. Just add water, a little butter, and some salt and they are ready in 5 minutes. Here was our spread:

Pancakes (some with fresh blueberries, some plain), cantaloupe and strawberries, bacon/sausage, scrambled eggs, and in the pot you can barely see:

The grits! Here was my plate:

One big blueberry pancake, some fruit, a little scrambled eggs, and a little grits. I also picked up a Chobani strawberry at the grocery store and put it on the pancake and ate the rest out of the cup… my first time trying the Strawberry and I really liked it. I went back for some more fruit an hour or two after but that plate really filled me up! We ended up staying for a few hours just chatting and laying low, and then before we knew it it was 5pm and time to get on the road. Visiting family for a weekend always goes by so fast, doesn’t it?

I had the rest of the dried fruit from yesterday, and some crunchy rice snacks we picked up from the grocery store in the car. We also got some drinks for the road (Sugar-Free Rockstar energy drink and a bottle of water for me) and made awesome time on the way home, even though we hit some traffic. The Droid has an awesome navigation feature where it tracks traffic and tells you how long it will take you to get to your destination factoring in traffic. It shows you where the traffic is and when it’ll be over, so being aware of the traffic pattern made it much more tolerable.

Now we’re home and just ordered some Chinese food… gonna lay low and watch some TV. I’ll check in later. Hope you had an awesome weekend and are recharged and ready for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

