• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Hanging in Hampton

Whew! What a day. We left around 1pm to make the should be three-hour drive, but got caught in a TON of traffic. We ended up getting to my boyfriend’s mom house around 4:45, but it felt like so much longer because traffic was so bad and frustrating! Luckily I had a few snacks in the car to ward off the crankiness that otherwise would have definitely hit hard… 😉

A banana

And a 100 calorie pack of Almonds and Walnuts. I also grabbed some dried fruit when we were getting gas with figs, pineapple, mango and papaya and ate about 1/2 the bag. No picture though!

We hung out for a while at the house and then drove around this new section of town and found a cute Italian restaurant called Bensi. It was only 11 days old but seems like a welcome addition to the town (they are really in need of some nice restaurants!). We talked with one of the partners, and they have 20 locations in NJ and this is their first location in VA, but our meal was excellent – especially for an 11 day old restaurant!

They served this to start, which had peppers stuffed with bread crumbs, olive oil, and cheese in the far left, olive oil with salt and pepper in the middle, and sliced cheese to the right. They also served a bread basket, and a bowl of salad family style.

Here was my first plate:

I may have gone back for another serving of salad and bread… or two 😉 But overall this was a great first course. I love it a.) when things are free, b.) things are served family style, and c.) when its delicious! The salad was bottomless so we got another bowl to split between the four of us and it was really fresh and good. For my main course, I went with the grilled salmon.

It came with broccoli and potato of the day (which was smashed potatoes with bacon and cheese and cream) but I asked to sub a baked potato and they did that no problem.  I also asked for extra mango salsa which came with the salmon as it was, and poured one of those two containers over the potato. Mango salsa is one of my favorites, and this one was really fresh and went great with the potato and over the salmon. I ordered a glass of Sauvignon Blanc on the side from Chile

Overall a really good meal. We usually cook when we visit with his mom, but they like meat and I don’t like to be too high maintenance so with my new fish-only policy, so I was a little nervous. Luckily, my boyfriend suggested we go out to dinner, so it was easy for me to get what I wanted and not have to seem picky. We’re now drinking a few beers at the hotel (Miller Lite for me) and taking it easy. I checked out the hotel gym and it is REALLY nice, so I’m thinking about paying a visit tomorrow. I don’t want to do anything too crazy because of my 10 miler tomorrow, but maybe do the elliptical for a little and some weights… but we shall see.

(PS: notice two darkish spots on my collar-bone?? I got really bad chaffing from the run today and those two spots are RAW. I had a zip up hoodie on during the run that I unzipped a bit once I warmed up, and I think the zipper must have really irritated my skin. It hurts!! But, that’s the worst of my post run injuries, so I can’t really complain…)

Yay for having internet at the hotel.. didn’t think I’d be able to update tonight! Hope you are having a fabulous Saturday, and I’ll check in tomorrow!

One Response

  1. One of my favorite dinners is blackened Ahi tuna with mango salsa on top. The combo is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

