• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Battle Wounds

Just a quick post to check in and show you my battle wounds and my lunch. My collar bone is hurting SO bad. I think I really made it worse when I absentmindedly toweled it off today. Take a look:

I feel like I should wear a turtleneck, but there are two issues with that. One – I don’t own a turtleneck and two, it hurts to have anything over it. Funny how the rest of my body is OK with the long distance run but my collar bone is rebelling. I’ll keep applying neosporin and hope for the best.

Lunch today was something new. I found these at the store last week:

California Turk’y Grillers by Morningstar Farms.  It has avocados and tomatoes blended into it, and these things are so easy to heat up. I don’t eat them a lot but its nice when you’re scrambling to pack something quick in the morning (and haven’t gone grocery shopping in a while…). I toasted an arnold thin with a slice of soy cheese on top, and then nuked this griller for 1 minute. I put it on top of some sprouts on the bun:

I also had the leftover veggies from last night’s shrimp and veggie dish. I added some soy sauce, ginger, and rice vinegar to them and let it soak overnight.

All togethe

The lunch was really good. I am definitely a fan of these California Turk’y burgers… they are tasty, juicy, and so easy. Winning combo in my book. I prefer homemade stuff of course but in a pinch these work and I have 3 left so you’ll be seeing them again! I also love rice vinegar, soy sauce, and ginger together, and use that combo a lot for flavor on anything.. it works well!

I’ll check in later… hope Monday is treating you well!

9 Responses

  1. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for them. They sound good. I love all the Morningstar products. Not a bad one in the bunch!

  2. OUCH!!!!! If you were to wear a turtle neck or any shirt that covers your collar bone maybe put bandaids on them so the wound doesn’t rub against clothing.

  3. Oh my god! That looks so painful!!!! Are there any signs of healing yet?

    I love Morningstar burgers. My favorite is the Morningstar Farms Tomato & Basil Pizza Burgers. SOOO Good!

  4. I feel your pain–literally! I totally ate the sidewalk during a run this weekend. It was one of those slow motion falls where you think, “Shit…ohh I’m giong to be Ok, I can catch mys…nooo!” thud. The crater on my left hip is the size of an orange. It HURTS. On the positive side, no cars were driving past to see the whole thing go down!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  5. Ouch! How did you get that?

    I couldn’t find where you talked about it originally.

    • I ran 10 miles on Saturday for the first time, and I had a zip up hoodie on. Not sure exactly what happened but the zipper chaffed my skin and that’s what it looks like today… eek!

  6. Awww, I hope your collarbone heals soon! Lululemon has some seamless shirts that could help with running and preventing chaffing. I know there is runner jelly or body glide that you can use to prevent chaffing too! Good luck!

  7. I’m going to have to look for those California Turk’y Burgers. They look like a great go-to food when in a hurry. Thanks for the tip!

    Ooh, and good luck with the battle wounds. I have a surgery scar at the nape of my neck that’s being quite the booger to deal with when running.

  8. I’m thinking you should start an iron chef sort of challenge. We name an ingredient and you whip up something tasty. My pick? Spaghetti squash! “Allez Cuisine!”

Leave a Reply

