• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Monday Morning Blahs

How is it already Monday morning!? I love going to visit family, but the weekends just fly by when you travel. Blah. It’s raining and gross outside and is supposed to be like this tomorrow too. Double blah. Buttt… later in the week it says its going to be sunny and in the 80’s… so that is definitely something to look forward to.

Last night we ordered Chinese food, and I got egg drop soup (hot and sour for him) and then we split the steamed jumbo shrimp and veggie moo shi.

I had my soup and some of each of the entrees… love that moo shi veggie! It has cabbage, mushrooms, broccoli, baby corn, water chestnuts, and egg, and its in a sweet-ish sauce (but not too sweet). It comes with pancakes and hoisin sauce… yum. The shrimp and veggies at our chinese restaurant are SO good, too. They shrimp are jumbo instead of those little ones you get from a lot of Chinese restaurants, and the veggies are so fresh and crunchy. After devouring my plate, I went back for a second Moo Shi Veggie pancake… delish.

I am in major need of a grocery for fresh fruit, veggies, yogurt, milk, and a bunch of other things. I wanted to make overnight oats but I had no milk or yogurt, so I whipped up some pumpkin oats this morning instead. I found this at Trader Joe’s:

It has Rye, Barley, Oats, and Wheat and I tried it this morning for the first time. I added ~1/2 a cup of pumpkin when it was done cooking, and then sprinkled some pumpkin pie spice on top.

Though it doesn’t look super appetizing, it really was! These multigrain oats have a really good texture, and I am so happy to have canned pumpkin back in my life. I’m going to try them in overnight oats form if I can convince myself to go out in the rain tonight…

Good news is I am not feeling sore AT ALL from Saturday’s 10 mile run. I didn’t need to take advil yesterday or today and haven’t had any pain, besides the chaffing on my collar bone. When I showered this morning I forgot about it, and I rubbed the towel really hard on my chest while drying off and now its re-opened. 😦 Ouch. Nothing  a little neosporin can’t fix, I hope…

Off to work I go!

2 Responses

  1. I’m dealing with the Monday blues myself! I chaffed on my collar bones from my sports bra once and it was horrible – hope it heals quickly.

  2. That’s cool that you weren’t sore! Sometimes after a really long or hard run, I’m kinda disappointed that I’m NOT sore! Weird….

Leave a Reply

