• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

I May Turn Orange

They say that one great rule of thumb for healthy eating is to make sure your meals are colorful. The different colors in your foods represent different nutrients, so the more colorful your meals are, the more varied the nutrients you’re eating are. I like to go by this rule because it’s obviously important to make sure you’re varying your food/nutrients, but it’s also very aesthetically pleasing to have all the colors and you “eat” with your eyes first.

That said, today’s lunch was a big fail in the colorful department. I had leftover Carrot Sesame Salad from last night, but knew that wouldn’t be enough, so I grabbed the old standby, a sweet potato with pico de gallo.

Carrot Sesame Salad:

Microwaved sweet potato with pico de gallo on top:

Lunch all together:

Funny because I brought an orange with me too and was craving some fruit, but I held off on having it because of the orange overload (not to mention the pumpkin in my oats this morning…) I was still a little hungry after eating this lunch though, so I took the plunge.

So now you see why I may actually turn orange. It hasn’t started yet but stay tuned. 😉

Luckily I have nothing orange on the agenda for the remainder of the day and though color-wise this lunch wasn’t a success, it TASTED delicious. The carrot salad was even better today because the flavor from the dressing really go into the carrots overnight.  And sweet potatoes are always amazing (though I really could have used the black beans today!). The oranges I found on sale for $1 at Whole Foods last night, so you’ll be seeing them a lot this week.

Back to work I go!

2 Responses

  1. Hey there! glad you didn’t turn orange 😉 i just stumbled across your website and thought I’d say hello! good luck with your goals!

  2. My brother in-law actually did turn orange during a stage where he was obsessed with carrot juice! Careful! 😉

Leave a Reply

