• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Overnight Pumpkin Oats

Morning!

I always get really jealous when I’m looking at other people’s blogs and see their delicious bowls of oats that look so good you wish you could have theirs instead of what you’re eating. So, last night I decided to make Overnight Oats by the books. I’ve made them before, but I usually use steel cut oats, and with those you have to cook them about half way (15 mins and they normally take 30), and then put them in the fridge overnight.

With true overnight oats, it requires no cooking. I used the Pumpkin Oats recipe from Kath Eats located on this page and they turned out SO good. This is definitely going to be my new go-to breakfast most days of the week because its so easy to throw together the night before and again, requires NO cooking. You use a ratio 1:1:1 of rolled oats, milk, and yogurt (any kind you like). Most recipes I’ve seen use 1/3 or 1/2 cup of each.

Here’s the bowl that I just devoured:

My bowl contained:

  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup nonfat plain Oikos
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk
  • 1/3 cup canned organic pumpkin
  • 1/2 medium banana, mashed
  • Toppings: 1 crumbled Weetabix biscuit and pumpkin butter

I love this pumpkin butter from Trader Joe’s. It’s not too sweet and adds great flavor to anything you put it on. Plus, heres the ingredient list: Pumpkin, sugar, honey, lemon juice concentrate, spices. It’s always a good sign when you can count all the ingredients on one hand.

And omg, this bowl of oats was sooooooo good. I am so excited I finally tried doing these the right way and know this will be a new staple in my diet. It’s also awesome because you can do so many different flavor combinations with the toppings (see the link above to Kath’s page for more ideas). The other best part is that I am so full, this will definitely tide me over until lunch.

Happy Tuesday!

6 Responses

  1. YUMMY!!! You have convinced me! I am so giving this a try for my Breakfast tomorrow!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow, everything you make looks so good!! Is it really that easy? I’m usually running out of the house like a chicken with its head cut off in the mornings and barely remember to grab my lunch and bagel thin for breakfast! Thanks.

    • haha Thanks! and yes, these are SO easy and SO good! You just mix everything together the night before and leave it in the fridge. I pack my breakfast and lunch for work every day (try to do it the night before when I make the time) – these will be extra motivation! I’ve also seen “Un-overnight Oats” which is the same concept, but you just let it sit for 10 minutes rather than overnight.

  3. I’ve never tried overnight oats. Does it taste different than the instant oatmeal?

    • You eat it cold, so yeah kinda. It’s creamier and kind of like oats meets yogurt… sort of hard to explain the texture but I am in love! Give it a try and let me know what you think!

  4. Totally making this for tomorrow morning’s breakfast! And keeping my eyes open for that pumpkin butter. I love everything pumpkin these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

