• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Wind Drag and Mussels (Not Together!)

How is it already after 9pm!? Today flew by because I was swamped at work. I made some popcorn brown paper bag style but inhaled it too quickly as I was working, so no picture. This time I just put a little cinnamon in the bag, shook it up, and it was really tasty! Sometime after lunch, I started to feel SO sore from doing The Shred last night. It’s kind of funny how I ran 10 miles and wasn’t sore, but did 20 minutes of circuit training and I feel like an old lady! Guess I have to start doing it more often.

I got home from work and some Amazing Grass samples had arrived. I was really looking forward to trying them, but they sent me packets of a bunch of different kinds so I didn’t know which one to dive into first.

I decided to go with this one:

Green SuperFood (just the basic one). I made my regular Green Monster with:

  • 1 cup light soy milk
  • 1 medium frozen banana
  • 4 frozen strawberries
  • 5 chunks of frozen pineapple
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • Green SuperFood Amazing Grass

It was so good! I honestly didn’t notice the Amazing Grass in there too much besides it being extra green, but the package said its great to use for an energy jolt in the morning, so I think I’ll try it with a morning workout and see if I feel a difference. Also I’m looking forward to trying the different flavors – chocolate and berry – now that I’ve given the plain one a go.

After my GM, I decided it’d be good to go out for a walk/run to loosen up. I started by walking .75 miles, then ran for 4 miles, then walked for another .75. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced such bad wind drag! My splits for the running miles were: 10:07, 9:55, 8:55, 9:05. For the first half of the run, I felt like I was moving my legs and they weren’t going anywhere! It was such a strange feeling, but I was hoping on my way back the wind would blow in the opposite direction and help me go faster, and that it did! For the two miles back, there were a few gusts that really pushed me along! Crazy that there was a 1 minute 12 second difference between my fastest and slowest mile on that run. I don’t think I’ve ever had that much of a pace difference during the same run before. I stretched a bunch after I finished and am feeling a lot looser and better now than I was before the run.

After my run, I was HUNGRY. I had gotten some mussels and leeks at Whole Foods last night, so I looked up a few recipes today to get some ideas, and ended up deciding to make them together. I rinsed off the mussels first and threw out the few that were open, and then sliced up the two leeks. I heated up some chopped garlic, dried thyme, and white wine in a wok, and then tossed in the sliced leeks.

I let those go for about 10 minutes, and then put in the mussels and mixed them into the leeks.

I covered the wok and let it continue to cook for another 10 minutes or so. It smelled SO good I was looking forward to it being done! While the mussels were finishing up, I toasted a Thomas Bagel Thin to soak up the extra broth with.

Here’s my serving:

And the toasted Thomas Bagel Thin:

After I ate all the mussels, the bagel thin worked perfectly to soak up the extra broth in the bottom of the bowl:

Yum! This was a really tasty and easy dish. It only took about 25 minutes from start to finish, including chopping everything up and cleaning the mussels.

Question.. Do you like to follow recipes or just wing it in the kitchen? For me, its kind of a mix. I am not very good at following recipes to a T because I like to just do my own thing in the kitchen, but I do like to look up different recipes when I’m figuring out what to cook to get some ideas. I especially like to do that if the ingredients I’m using aren’t that familiar to me (ie mussels and leeks together). But in general, I don’t really follow recipes.

I’m off to pack lunch for tomorrow and then do some reading and relaxing… have a good night!

6 Responses

  1. Amazing Grass is such a great company!! Love their bars.

  2. those mussels look soooo good!!! and Amazing grass is some of my favorite stuff ever!

  3. Hi Beth. I love mussels. Unfortunately, I am the only one in my house that does. I do make them every now and then but not too often. Your recipe looks delicious.

    I’m gonna get the ingredients for your green monster and try it this weekend. This morning I had a toasted whole wheat bagel thin with sugar free strawberry preserves and a blueberry Chobani. I’ve never had the blueberry and can’t wait to try it.

  4. They mussels look amazing! I typically follow a recipe the first time and then make my own alterations if its a keeper. I like to play it safe the first round. haha

  5. the berry flavored drink mix is the best from amazing grass. definitely gives me energy if i drink it first thing on an empty stomach. spirulina is supposed to be an immune system booster, too. i havent tried the bars or the wheatgrass mix.

  6. Cooking is not my favorite thing and I lack the creativity to “wing it”. So recipes are a must!

Leave a Reply

