• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Overnight Oats: Take Two

Good morning! Today is supposed to be 70 and it’s already sunny and clear and this makes me veryyyyy happy. I wore a skirt without stockings for the first time all year, that’s how excited I am. 😉 I am still super sore today in my legs from Monday night’s Shred workout. As I’ve said before, even though its only 20 minutes, it is intense. There are three 6 minute circuits, which consist of 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs each. Its go-go-go the whole time, but what else would you expect from a 20 minute workout? At one point, you do weighted static lunges for 1 minute straight, and then switch to the other leg and do it again for 1 whole minute. That is a lot of lunges for a girl who doesn’t do them very often. I think I’m going to start trying to do it 1-2 times a week so I don’t feel this way after one go at it.

This morning I had overnight oats again! I am seriously loving them. I used a little more oats, a little less liquid, and no banana this time (mostly because I forgot about the banana :P).

My oats contained:

  • 2/3 cup oats (I was going to use 1/2 cup but there was only a little left in the container, so I used it all)
  • 1/3 cup light soy milk
  • 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup canned organic pumpkin
  • pumpkin pie spice
  • Toppings: 1 crushed Weetabix biscuit, a heaping tablespoon of pumpkin butter, and 1 packet Truvia

I promise there are oats under there! These are my new fav, and I actually have to run to the store to get more oats because I’m out! I only have steel cuts oats left, which I love, but those ones you have to cook.

I’ve had a few people ask me about the texture of these. This bowl was thicker than yesterday because I used less liquid. I wanted it to be a bit thicker than it was yesterday, but I think I “under-did” the liquid this time. I think going forward I’m going to keep the ratio close to 1:1:1, but just a little bit less yogurt and milk than the oats. The best way I can describe it is if you mix granola into your yogurt and let it sit for a while so the granola gets soft, but in a good way. You’re not expecting the oatmeal to be crunchy, and it’s just so thick and satisfying. Plus, I love that you can add whatever toppings you want to change it up. I’m going to try to run to the store soon to find some different toppings to experiment with.

Happy Hump Day!!

6 Responses

  1. Hey Beth. I tried the overnight oats out! Gave you some koodos on my blog. Check it out and thanks again for posting the recipe.

    Lisa

    • Hi Lisa,

      Glad you tried them! I ❤ them! What is the link to your blog? Lisarphoto.com is going to a different site. Thanks!

  2. I haven’t tried to overnight oats yet but I’m going to do it this weekend! When I make the 2 minute oats, I realized I needed to add less water than what it called for because I like it more “lumpy” and thick than runny.

  3. […] – Overnight Oats […]

  4. Hi Beth, I just wanted to leave you a message to let you know how great I think your site is, particularly the overnight oats. I am a friend of A Digity and she has totally turned me on to your blog.
    So back to the oats, they are awesome! I hate oatmeal, but I really want to like it. I tried A Digity’s and I love it. The texture is great and the taste shocks my taste buds.
    You are doing such a great job with all of your information and recipes.
    Keep on blogging!!

    • Aww Thanks Debbie!! I appreciate it – – and overnight oats really are amazing! I get so excited about trying different combos and different toppings in there. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

