• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Smells like Shamu!

Today is a gorgeous day outside, so Emily and I decided to go for a walk before lunch to soak it in. I work right near the White House so we have this loop we like to do and there are always so many tourists. For some reason, it always cracks me up when I see people on Segways:

Though I guess its a good way to explore a new city (but walking would be better!). And it’s really spring time in DC.. flowers are starting to bloom! So exciting.

And here Emily and I are enjoying our quick walk outside:

Do you notice how my collar bone wounds look even worse!? It seriously looks like I got attacked by a vampire or something of that nature. Last night when my boyfriend got home, he goes “Wow! Those look so bad!” before “Hi” or anything… thanks chef! 😉

Now onto my eats, but a little story first. Several months ago, I brought leftover shrimp in for lunch and heated it up in the office kitchen. I was really self-conscious about it smelling like fish, so I asked a few people if it smelled while still in the kitchen. They said no (probably just to be nice), so I came back to my cube and before I could even sit down, not one, but TWO people said, “OMG! What is that smell!?” And someone else, “EW! It smells like Shamu!” (I, too, laughed a little at the second comment). So, embarrassed, I darted back to the conference room and ate my lunch in there with my head hung low (not really). That was the first and last time I’ve ever brought fish in for lunch.

So, sad part here is, when I make fish for dinner, I can’t bring leftovers in for lunch the next day so it messes me up (aka the mussels from last night). I pulled out some of the leeks before adding the mussels last night and set them aside for lunch today, but then had to figure something else out for the main event. I went with another one of those Turk’y California Grillers by Morningstar Farms.

I toasted an arnold thin, spread on a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese (1/2 on each side), and put it on top of a huge bed of sprouts. I also cut up an orange on the side.

And had some leftover leeks from last night:

‘Twas a very satisfying lunch, and much more balanced colors than yesterday, no?

The laughing cow cheese worked really well on this sandwich, definitely better than the soy cheese earlier in the week. The flavor just made the griller pop. And these oranges I got at Whole Foods and so juicy and delicious. Yum!

Do you have things you will eat at home but not at the office? For me, its fish that needs to be heated, but I’ve had canned salmon or tuna before no problem. I also won’t make butter popcorn in the office because I think it smells so much (in an amazing way) and every time someone else makes it, I want it, so I figure it’s not really fair for me to do it. But I looove fish and popcorn at home (though not usually together)!

Check ya later!

2 Responses

  1. It’s fish for me too. I try not to bring it in for lunch. I have to tell ya that I got those new Morningstar burgers last night and had one for lunch too. I had mine on a toasted bagel thin, with sprouts and a few slices of avocado. Very good! I also had a cut up cucumber and some grape tomatoes. Also got a free sample from Kashi of the Dark Chocolate Coconut bar. OH MY GOD!! I felt decadent for eating it. So good!

  2. this isn’t in the office, but in general I don’t like eating wings in public cause it’s soooo messy. So that makes me less tempted to waste points on them! hahaha

    i don’t know if I said this, I’m greenb0ttlecap from the boards!

Leave a Reply

