• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Juice Joint

Hi! I went outside for a walk during lunch because it was soo beautiful. Walking in the shade was a little cool for my taste, but in the sun it was perfect.  I had packed a lunch but was not feeling it, and knew just what I wanted to get. I headed over to the Juice Joint Cafe, which is just a few blocks away from my office. If you’re in DC and haven’t tried this place, you HAVE to. It is so so so good, and there are tons of healthy and delicious items all over the menu.

On the front of their menus (and on the website) it says: “The quality of your life begins with the quality of the food that sustains it. The surest path to a healthier, more energetic and disease-free lifestyle begins with a diet rich in natural foods like whole grains, legumes, fruits, and vegetables. Especially important on their path to health are fresh fruit and vegetable juices. Fresh juices provide the protein, carbohydrates, essential fatty acids, vitamins and minerals that are vital to good health.” – Michael T. Murray, N.D. The Complete Book of Juicing

While I haven’t actually tried any of their juices, they look delicious. I mostly haven’t tried them because they’re a little on the expensive side (though I’ve never seen fresh juice from somewhere that isn’t) and I’m usually going in for lunch so buying a sandwich or salad, and that with a juice gets pricey, but I’ve been with people before who have ordered juice and raved about it. They also have tons of healthy sides, like fruit and yogurt parfaits, cut up veggies, fresh salads, pita chips, terra chips, etc. There are lots of great options in there!

I went with the Fresh Mozzarella & Roasted Veggie Sandwich. According to the menu, “Roasted zucchini, squash, red peppers, sprouts, tomato, basil & fresh mozzarella cheese drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette on multi-grain bread.”

While it doesn’t look like anything that special sitting there, this sandwich is amazing. Have a look inside:

Yum! The roasted veggies are not overly roasted so there’s still a bit of a crunch, the bread is soft, and the combination of the mozz and veggies is just amazing. This is exactly what I crave when I want a good sandwich. And today, like always,  it definitely hit the spot. I also grabbed one of these to drink:

I love this Raspberry Lime kind. Perfect lunch in my book.

I cannot wait for 5pm because of the farmers market annnnd cafe asia! should be fun. and THEN its Friday and the weekend. awesome. 🙂

Hope your Thursday is going well so far!

Leave a Reply

