• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Grazing Friday

Hello from New Jersey! I made it to my parents house in good time even though I did hit some traffic. It took just over three hours, and the weather was so gorgeous for the whole drive so it wasn’t so bad.

I’d been noticing for some time that my tires were looking a little low with air, and when I was driving today I could feel it a little so it was making me nervous. I knew I needed to put more air in them, but I’d never done it before and had no clue what to do. I stopped at a Wawa to get gas, and then pulled over to where the air machine was and gave it a go. I had no idea what I was doing, so I went over to the gas attendant to ask him if he could help me, and he said he wasn’t able to leave his station but tried to tell me how to do it. I went back and tried again, but when I pulled away, I wasn’t sure if I had put air into my tires, or drained all the air out of them… haha. Hopefully the first of those two scenarios, but I made it to my parents house and my brother-in-law is going to take a look tomorrow. 🙂

I pretty much grazed all day, starting during my drive. I had a serving of Fiber Select Wheat Thins and the rest of the dates (probably about 6):

I also had an orange a little while later, which luckily was a lot less messy than I was expecting.

Mmm. Those snacks got me through the whole drive, and then after I made it to my parents’ house, I played with my niece and nephew, Claire and Ben, for a bit. I’ll try to snap some pics of them tomorrow.. they are SO cute and fun to be around. My sister (their mother) and I then decided to run out to pick up some food to make for dinner, and we went to this awesome fish market called Bob’s Seafood. My boyfriend and I stumbled upon it the last time we were here, and though a bit pricey, the fish selection was awesome and plentiful. Here’s a picture I snapped inside the market:

We decided to go with the whole red snapper, and ended up getting 2 large ones for 6 of us which turned out to be wayy too much, but leftovers are never a bad thing. We had to run to a regular grocery store to get the rest of the things we needed for dinner, and I snacked on some dried apple rings while we were driving around.

We ended up getting some dill and lemon to cook the snapper with, and it looked so pretty I had to snap a picture before we put it in the oven.

We baked it at 400 degrees for 25 or so minutes, and it came out looking like this:

It was so juicy and delicious when it was done. My sister and I ended up snacking on the bread from the Farmer’s Market with olive oil while the food was cooking so we were getting kind of full before dinner was even ready. I still managed to do devour my plate, though. 😉

A piece of snapper, steamed green beans drizzled with a little olive oil, a baked potato, and zucchini and yellow squash sautéed with some Parmesan. So good! Afterwards we each had a tiny piece of cheesecake

This was also delish. My sister found it at a local bakery that she just discovered around here that makes a lot of treats. There’s a bunch of leftover cheesecake and some sticky buns in the house from there, so I have to be careful….

I am exhausted! Tomorrow I’m going on a bikeride with my dad and that’s the only thing on the agenda for now. But for right now, SLEEP.

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

