• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Biking and Family

Happy Easter Eve! I slept like a baby last night until 8:30am and woke up today feeling really good. I had plans to go on a bike ride with my dad to visit my grandpa’s grave site, which is about 14 miles total. We took a few detours and I added in a few extra roads here and there to let my dad catch up, so I ended up doing a little over 16 miles. It was my first time on a bike in almost a year! It felt so nice to change it up a little but now I really want to buy a bike…

Before the ride, I had a cup of coffee with frothed milk and a sprinkle of cocoa. My parents have Keurig coffee maker which is the kind with the pods, so it always makes the perfect cup. They also have this awesome frother where you just push a button and you get perfectly frothed milk every time.

and some dried apricots:

Plus an unpictured 1/2 a banana. That was perfect pre-ride fuel for me because it was light but I didn’t feel hungry during the ride at all.

Today’s stats:

Total Distance: 16.31 miles

Total Time: 1h:22m:29sec

Average Pace: 5:03 min/mi

After the ride, I played with my niece, Claire, for a little and took a few pictures:

That’s her and I. Isn’t she a doll!?

The shirt I’m wearing says “shittake happens”.. ha! My mom lent it to me to wear for the ride because she didn’t think I’d be warm enough in the only workout clothes I brought with me:

And good thing I listened to her… I was chilly during the whole ride even after I added that t-shirt to my ensemble. Moms always know best, don’t they? 😉 (Side note: that is a Daffy Duck sticker on my hand in case you’re wondering. Take a stab at whose idea that was…)

After playing with Claire for a bit I was getting really hungry, and had thrown together a bowl of oats before I went out to ride. These ones only soaked for about 2 hours, so technically weren’t overnight oats, but they were good! I present.. PB&J “Overnight” Oats:

My mix contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain yogurt
  • 1/3 cup nonfat milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • Toppings: 1 tbsp Strawberry Simply Fruit, 1 tbsp Skippy Natural Peanut Butter

Yum! I’m glad this worked out because its good to know it doesn’t actually have to soak all night if I forget to throw it together the night before. I used a little less milk and yogurt than normal since it would be sitting for less time, and this was the perfect consistency.

Not sure what’s on the agenda for the rest of the day but its getting really nice out so hopefully spending some time outside. Maybe a mani/pedi?

I’ll be back! I hope the weather’s nice wherever you are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

