• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Saturday in NJ

Hi there! Just checking in after a nice day at the rents. We had a really low-key, mostly just hanging around and getting stuff ready for our big brunch tomorrow. I did end up getting the mani/pedi that I wanted which was exciting. After I had those Overnight Oats from earlier, I was craving some fruits and veggies, so I decided to try to throw together a Green Monster. I asked my mom if she had any frozen fruit, and she gave me one of these:

This is one of the frozen Yoplait Smoothie mixes that had mixed berries inside and some frozen yogurt chunks, for lack of a better word. It calls for you to mix it with milk, but I added a few handfuls of spinach too.

I’m not a big fan of these smoothie packs. I felt like the yogurt in there added a really weird flavor and left a nasty aftertaste. I did still drink it, but I think I’ll just stick to my regular old frozen fruit. It did give me a burst of energy and kept me quite satisfied through my mani/pedi 😉

After getting home from that, the ‘rents were making steak for dinner, so I decided to make a monstrocity of a salad for myself. My dad actually put the bowl in the middle of the table after I threw my salad together because he thought it was for everyone to share, but I definitely ate it all.

This salad had:

  • Tons of baby spinach
  • 1 hardboiled egg + 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1 roasted red pepper, chopped
  • daikon radish
  • raw zucchini and yellow squash
  • homemade balsamic vinaigrette

I also had the last of the multigrain loaf that I bought at the Farmer’s Market on Thursday:

They had grilled flank steak, grilled zucchini, leftover green beans with truffle oil, salad, and sauteed onions and mushrooms for the steak. I took advantage of the grilled zucchini and sauteed onions and mushrooms and transformed my salad a little bit into this:

Yum! This salad really hit the spot and it was nice getting to put whatever I wanted on there to make it big and satisfying. I don’t usually have as many ingredients laying around my own house to make a huge salad like this with so much different stuff!  I wasn’t sure how this whole not eating meat thing was going to go over because my family does eat a fair amount of red and white meat, but tonight I just made my own thing, used a little bit of theirs, and everyone was happy. 🙂

After dinner, I snacked on a few Cadberry Mini Eggs

Tomorrow is Easter after all! I love these things, so good.

I’m going to go relax a bit, we have a big day ahead tomorrow because we’re going to Philly to church and then brunch at my other sister’s house. We’re each in charge of something different for the meal, should be quite a feast! We have to get out of my parents house by 8:15am… so we’ll see how that goes.

Good night!!

2 Responses

  1. thanks for the review on that yoplait mix. I see it at Costco all the time and every time I think about buying it and then don’t. I definitely won’t now!

  2. That yoplait mix doesn’t look like the ones I have. I really enjoyed mine–not as a smoothie for breakfast or after workout, but as a dessert!

Leave a Reply

