• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Easter Sunday

Hi! I just got back to DC and cleaned the apartment a bit am am now settling into the couch after a long, but fun, day. I woke up around 7am to take a shower because we were planning to leave the house at 8:15am to go to my sisters before church. Add two kids into the mix and nothing goes as planned, but we did leave shortly after 8:30am.  I made a quick bowl of oats before we went because we weren’t going to be eating for several hours. This time, I just mixed the oats and yogurt together and left it for about 10 minutes and it worked perfectly. Good to know!

This bowl had:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • crushed almonds for a topping

Delicious and so quick!

We went to church in Philly (my first time since last Easter.. eek!) and afterwards went back to my sisters house to get our feast ready. While we were getting the main meal ready, we snacked on some pickles and some deviled eggs.

The pickles were delicious.. I’m not sure what kind they were but they were small and super crunchy. These deviled eggs were courtesy of my sister Wendy. She got the recipe from Cooking Light, and mixed the yolks with chopped tarragon and chives, smoked salmon, and light sour cream. Delicious!

Everyone had their own contribution to the meal. I was in charge of the salad:

This turned out great! I boiled dried apricots in water to get them plump for about 10 minutes (my boyfriend clued me in on that – I had no idea you could do that!) and they got juicy and bigger. I blanched some asparagus, and threw in the asparagus, chopped apricots, some goat cheese, and spring mix. I made a vinaigrette with the juice of a meyer lemon (orange meets lemon), a lime, some orange juice, honey, dijon mustard, salt pepper, and extra virgin olive oil.

My sister Wendy was in charge of the ham and the biscuits:

I didn’t have any of the ham, but reviews were good. The biscuits were delicious and so flaky. We ate them with honey drizzled all over. Yum!

My other sister Heather was in charge of two vegetable sides, so she made sauteed spinach with garlic and olive oil, and potato gratin.

The spinach was delicious, but the potato gratin was to die for. Cheesy and crispy! I hear there was 4 cups of half and half in that whole tray… that may have something to do with it. 😉

I took some salad, spinach, potatoes, and a biscuit for my plate:

And definitely helped myself to a second serving of the salad. Everything was delicious!

My mom was in charge of making a cake, but my sister Heather actually took over for the most part. It turned out SO great. Take a look!

This was a pound cake (made in a lamb shaped mold) with a meringue frosting and coconut on top. Food coloring was used to make the “grass” and jelly beans for some decorations. I had a little piece of the cake:

It was delish. It’s been a long time since I’ve had an occasion for cake, so this was definitely welcome.

I got on the road home from Philly shortly after the meal and hit a lot of traffic getting out of PA, but once I got through Delaware and into Maryland it was smooth sailing. It ended up taking about 3 1/2 hours, and it should take 2 1/2 or so (depending on how fast you drive!). I’m happy to be home but wish I had another day before having to go back to work. Not sure what tonight will bring but I’m getting hungry.

Hope you all had a fabulous Easter if you celebrate and a great Sunday if you don’t!

Be back later!

3 Responses

  1. Yummy! I am so full right now from over eating 3 days in a row…I think I may burst! What kind of oats do you use?

    • I just use the regular store brand rolled oats. I keep meaning to take a picture of the container because it’s enormous. I think there’s 40 servings in there!

  2. Everything looks so great! My favorite thing about holiday parties are the deviled eggs. I could seriously eat an entire plate of ’em!

Leave a Reply

