• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back At It

Morning! Back to the grind and to work after the holiday. I made a few changes this morning that I think I’m going to try to stick with, but first, last night’s eats.

It ended up being very relaxing and low key, exactly what I needed. We decided to order Thai food from our favorite place, Neramitra, and it was not as good as usual. 😦

I got the Tom Yum soup with seafood

And the Pad See-Ew with veggies:

x2. I never get noodle dishes, but it spoke to me on the menu, so I went with it. The noodles were pretty greasy, even though this is supposed to be one of the lighter dishes on the menu, and the soup has much less seafood than usual. I should have gotten the veggie soup because then they load it up with lots of veggies like baby corn, mushrooms, zucchini, cabbage, etc. Better luck next time. 😛

Last night, I had set my alarm for 7 because I was contemplating going out for a run this morning before work. The alarm went off and I got up (for once!) but was not feeling going out for a run. I remembered that I had tried a few of the On Demand workouts from Exercise TV, so I decided to take a look. I found two workouts, the AM Yoga (10 minutes) and the AM Stand-Up Ab workout that I decided to give a try.

I loved the yoga workout. I am a complete novice when it comes to anything yoga, and this was very beginner friendly and involved lots of stretching and deep breathing. I felt so awake and loose when I was done with it. The ab workout just wasn’t my thing. She was moving way too fast in some of the moves, and I wasn’t coordinated enough to keep up. I like stand up ab routines because they put less stress on your back, and Jillian Michael’s has one on there that I really like, so I think I’ll stick with that one instead of the AM Stand-Up one. I really want to try to get up a few minutes earlier and do the yoga in the morning. My goal is to do that every day this week, and today was day one. 10 minutes earlier shouldn’t be too hard, especially since that means getting up at 7:30am, not some ungodly hour like 4:30 or 5. 🙂

I made some true overnight oats last night and found another can of organic pumpkin hiding in my pantry! That was an exciting discovery.

These overnight oats had:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup nonfat Oikos greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup light Silk soy milk
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • Toppings: blackberries, crushed weetabix biscuit, and 1 tbsp Almond Butter

Really satisfying and I was proud of myself for changing up the toppings. 😛 Sad part is that I had no bananas at home, so couldn’t mash one into it. The banana mashed in there really gives the whole bowl a sweetness you don’t get when its left out and makes the texture a bit creamier, so I need to get on that stat. The good news is I am running really low on Almond Butter so my very first Oats in a Jar is quickly approaching. Stay tuned!

Question: Have you added anything to your morning routine that helps you feel more energized throughout the day? I’m not a morning person, so I can’t get up most mornings to do a workout before work (trust me, I’ve tried), but I think doing a quick 10 minute yoga routine is do-able and will help me relax a bit and wake-up in the mornings.

4 Responses

  1. I think that mashed banana is the only reason I can eat oatmeal 🙂 I am not a morning person either! I tried to wake up and do morning workouts a few times and I wouldn’t get up and feel guilty about it so I stopped trying! I think 10 mins of yoga is doable.. good luck!

  2. I am not a morning person at all and it’s hard to incorporate things into the morning (during the week). But I do walk from the parking garage to my office in the mornings–it’s about 2 1/2 miles. It’s a great way to wake up–and get a little exercise!

  3. For me it’s just eating right. I’ve been consistently eating breakfast since starting WW and it seems to have really helped me feel more awake and alert. I always eat breakfast at my desk and have about 1/2 hour commute so I’ll typically eat fruit in the car to get my metabolism going. I swear though I don’t know how I ever lived without oatmeal all these years! I look forward to it now!

  4. I have tried one or two of the Exercise TV things before, but I’ve alway been looking for the longer work outs. The 10 minute morning Yoga sounds like a great way to start the day! My alarm is set for 5:40 and I’m usually out of bed by 5:50, so adding 10 minutes onto my morning seems so early!

Leave a Reply

