• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

It’s Official…

Easter is over, and I haven’t broken the fast. If you’re a new reader, I decided to give up all red and white meat for Lent (actually started a day early because of a little overindulgence during the weekend). I wasn’t eating that much meat as it was; at most once a day. Before giving it up all together, I tried to do at least one full vegetarian day per week, so I was used to having a lot of meals without meat as the focal point. I had been toying with the idea of going vegetarian for some time, so Lent seemed like a great time to give it a shot, even though I’m not very religious.

Once I stopped eating meat, I realized how it wasn’t really that much of a change for me from my regular diet, so it wasn’t that hard. There were a few times when I was eating out with other people and was tempted to try something with chicken or bacon, but other than that, it was easy. I think if I had done this drastic change without first cutting down on meat, it would have been a lot more difficult, but I’ve actually enjoyed myself without meat. I am getting a lot more fruits and veggies than I was before and have tried a lot of different dishes that I might not have otherwise. I also feel more energetic and “healthier” in my head. 🙂

I was thinking about the possibility of not going back to eating meat even after Lent was over, and as the 40 days went by, that idea became more and more of a possibility. I’m not saying I will never eat meat again, but I think for now, I’m going to stick with fish only. I may eat meat at special occasions or if I start to crave it, but I’m going to go with this for now and see where it takes me! I can see this change sticking, but don’t want to make any promises that I’m not 100% sure about.  I’m in no way against anyone else eating meat; I think you need to make your decisions for you. I just find that I feel better and have a more varied diet when I don’t have meat as part of it. So there you have it!

I swear these overnight oats really stick to your ribs. Since I started having them, I haven’t needed a morning snack, and before ONO’s, I would always have one. I like snacking a lot, don’t get me wrong, but I also like being full for 3-4 hours from a bowl of oats! I went outside to eat lunch today with a few coworkers. Since I didn’t cook last night, I threw together a quick meal for lunch consisting of an enormous salad and a “baked” sweet potato.

This salad had

  • 2-3 cups 50-50 mix, of spring greens and spinach
  • 1/2 cup kidney beans
  • 1 large chopped carrot
  • 4 chopped radishes

The “Baked” Sweet Potato was microwaved for 3 minutes (the microwave at my office is super powerful) and topped with ~1/4 cup shredded reduced-fat Mozzarella cheese (Trader Joe’s). All together:

This lunch was really satisfying and filling with the beans and sweet potato. There was also a lot of Easter candy in our office kitchen when I got back from lunch, so I had a small handful of jelly beans:

They left kind of a funny taste in my mouth so I went back to the kitchen to look at the package, and realized they were Sugar-Free. I used to eat sugar free stuff a lot, but now the aftertaste really gets to me. I think my body is used to have natural, unprocessed things now, so sugar-free anything just sends it into a weird place.

I hope your week is getting off to a great start and that its beautiful wherever you are! I’ll check in later.

2 Responses

  1. That salad looks delicious for lunch!
    What do you usually pack your lunch in? I always feel like I have a mountain of plastic containers, but none that are the right size for what I want to bring without feeling like the girl with a million containers.

    • I actually have an AWESOME lunch bag I got at Target for $10. It holds everything! I do have a few things I keep at work (like almond butter) but you’ll be amazed at how much stuff you can get in there. Here’s a link to the post about it with pics: http://wp.me/pKRzq-2U

Leave a Reply

