• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Speedy Monday

Today has flown by! Seriously, where did it go?! I had grand plans to go for a walk in the park and throw around the ball after work, but I had to run to the grocery store for a few things and now my head is pounding. I really hope I’m not getting sick… My sister was sick this weekend and I was feeling a little “off” but I hope it doesn’t turn into a full fledged cold/flu! I have my 10 mile race on Sunday, so I want to be in tip top shape for that. Lots of fruits and veggies and green monsters hopefully will do the trick.

For afternoon snacks, I had an orange:

And some popcorn with cinnamon that I popped and ate right out of the brown paper bag.

When I got home, a few samples had arrived and so the boyfriend and I shared these on the way to the grocery store:

SO good. These were Sahale Snacks Soledad Almonds and had apple, flax seeds, dates, balsamic vinegar, and red pepper in addition to the almonds. The mix was sweet, but not too sweet and super crunchy and satisfying. My only regret was that I shared the bag! 😉

After our grocery store run, we had a few more snacks while we were making dinner.

Moroccan hummus which tasted like curry and was very flavorful, with some celery and some crackers. I overdid it a bit on the crackers and hummus so I kind of ruined my appetite, which is sad because I was really looking forward to this dinner.  I also had a glass (or three) of Monkey Bay Sauvignon Blanc, one of my favorites.

Dinner was so good tonight, even though I couldn’t eat too much of it. We had chilled shrimp on a papaya and butter lettuce salad and carrot ginger soup. We boiled the shrimp in some water, hot paprika, and thyme, salt.

We had an ice bath ready to go for the shrimp, and one tip from the chef is that its good to flavor the ice bath just like you do the water you cook the shrimp in. So we added some hot paprika to the ice bath, and transferred the shrimp in there after 2 minutes with a slotted spoon to let them cool.

For the soup, we boiled some water with ginger, 10 large peeled and chopped carrots, ginger, red and white onion, and red curry paste. We let that go for about 45 minutes:

Then transferred it to a blender, and it would have been perfect.

But then a little chili sauce was added (read: a lot) and it ended up being way too spicy for my taste. Sad because I was really looking forward to it. Here was my salad

Which was amazing. The salad had butter lettuce, papaya, grapefruit, tangerine, and pickled red onions. There was also a papaya vinaigrette over the whole salad. The papaya itself was melt in your mouth juicy and went so well with the other elements of the salad. Delicious!

And my soup:

Which was garnished with minced ginger and tangerine zest, and some greek yogurt. I ate about half of this. The flavor was so good, but it was too spicy for me. 😦

With all the crackers and hummus I ate, I am stuffed. There is a chance I’ll still have room for an ice cream cone later… 😉

3 Responses

  1. yummy! That soup looks so good! You are making me hungry!

  2. Sometimes a glass (or three!) of wine is necessary to start out the beginning of the week!!! 🙂

  3. Beth, how do you go about getting your samples? I always see you trying fun new stuff.

Leave a Reply

