• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Just Another Snacky Day

Hi! Today has been another quick day. Being busy at work certainly makes the days fly by. Today in DC it was in the mid 80s and sunny from the afternoon on. Feels more like summer than spring! It was the kind of afternoon that called for frozen yogurt, so we took another trip to Yogen Fruz. I was excited to see they were in stock with Mochi, one of my favorite toppings.

I got a small nonfat green tea frozen yogurt with mochi and chocolate chips. Delicious! Mochi is Japanese rice cake but gummy, so its sort of like mildly flavored gummy bears (but not in bear shape!) Hard to explain if you’ve never had it, but I just love the texture and think its great on fro yo. Last time I went there they were out of it, so I was happy to see it back in stock.

I am still feeling pretty sick with a runny nose and sore throat. 😦 I decided a Green Monster would be a good idea for an after work snack because I love them and because of the nutrient boost.

This Green Monster had:

  • 3/4 cup light soy milk (the last of it!)
  • 3/4 cup water (no other option)
  • 7-8 frozen strawberries
  • medium frozen banana
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • 1 packet organic wheat grass

This GM hit the spot and was delicious. It had been a few days since I last had one, so it was time! Also, notice the background of that smoothie? That is the pool at my apartment complex, filled with water!! They just filled it up in the last few days and I am getting so excited for it to open. It opens from Memorial Day – Labor Day but I’m hoping they decide to open it earlier since the weather’s getting so warm. Fingers crossed!

My friend Meredith’s birthday was today (Happy Birthday Mer!!) so I went over to her apartment for a few hours to hang out on the rooftop. No pictures because it was too dim, but I had 2 glasses of wine, some crackers and cheese, green beans and carrots, and a hamburger cupcake!

This is a cupcake cut in half with a cookie in the middle and red icing “ketchup.” Amber made these for Meredith’s birthday and did an awesome job! Doesn’t it really look like a hamburger!? Here’s a picture of the three of us:

Amber, Me, and Meredith (the birthday girl). Fun fact: we were all roommates at orientation for college and now, 8 years later, are all really close but became friends through different outlets than rooming together.

Fun night but I am ready to hit the hay! Have a good night!

2 Responses

  1. That frozen yogurt looks good! I’m so jealous you have a pool that will be so much fun when it opens up. Hope the green monster wipes out your cold!

  2. I think I need a green smoothie today too…yummy and yipeee for summer coming!

Leave a Reply

