• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Lookin’ Up

I don’t understand how some people can go without breakfast. When I get hungry, I am so cranky, my stomach grumbles and all I can think about is getting some food in me. So having to wait until 11:30 to eat today was pretty rough, but I made it. I was just getting a routine physical, so nothing to worry about, but I had to fast for 12 hours before they took my blood. I think I may have freaked the nurse out a little bit when I basically trampled her to jump across the room towards my purse immediately after she took the needle out of my arm. I had a huge Fuji Apple in there that I needed to eat stat.

I scarfed it down fast while in my gown and was quite happy to be eating.

After my doctor’s appointment, I booked it back to the office so I could dive into my lunch, which was re-worked leftovers. I used the rest of the spring mix I’d left at work, and topped it with chopped papaya, picked red onions, and the chilled shrimp from last night:

\

This was delicious and really pretty to look at, too. 😉 The papaya was perfectly ripe so it was juicy and perfectly complimented the onions and the shrimp. Since the soup from last night was too hot, I mixed some yogurt into it and ate it cold today.

It was really good this way! I think it being cold combined with the yogurt made it perfect. It still definitely had a kick, but an enjoyable amount this time. I also had a toasted arnold thin on the side:

Mmm so good all together! My moods already perking up and I can see out of both eyes so life is good. 🙂

Hope you’re having a good Tuesday so far!

4 Responses

  1. I get really cranky too when I’m hungry. Have you ever been checked for low blood sugar? Sometimes I think I might have that.

  2. i LOVE that you had a lil snack in your gown – ha! getting blood work is the worst, glad you made it through OK 😉

  3. HAHA I love the picture of you in the gown…thatta girl Beth!

  4. Yuumy! I had almost the same lunch as you…shrimp salad but with yogurt dressing….it hit the spot!

Leave a Reply

