• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Just A Quickie

Hi! Just a quickie post because I’m having a crazy day at work, but I had leftovers again today for lunch and they were delicious! As I was getting together my lunch in our office kitchen, a coworker said “Wow! You get to eat so much food when you eat healthy!” Ha. I liked that.

I had another bowl of the chilled carrot ginger soup from Monday night:

This soup is so good! It tastes so creamy even though there’s no cream, just yogurt. There’s a lot left so it’s a good thing I like it, but I might freeze a big container of it to save for later. Along with the soup, I also had a salad:

This salad was delicious. I put chopped carrots, the rest of the pickled red onions, and then kidney beans mixed with tomatillo salsa. Tomatillos are just green tomatoes, but they have a nice flavor and the salsa with the beans really made this salad pop! It was the star of the meal for me. I also had some strawberries on the side:

So all together it was a big, satisfying (and colorful!) lunch!

Also, I haven’t mentioned this on here yet, but I haven’t been drinking coffee at all this week. I’ve been making iced green tea every day by using 2 teabags in a cup of hot water, letting it seep for 5 minutes, and then pouring it into a glass of ice. Good news is that I haven’t been getting headaches and still have been feeling energized! It was actually kind of unintentional because I have been carrying too much stuff to work to stop to get coffee on the way. That coupled with my days being so busy that I haven’t really had time to run out to the store has made me coffee free. I’m not sure where this will lead but I’m enjoying the iced green tea for now! And, it’s cheaper, which is always a plus.

I’ve been feeling pretty sick so I haven’t worked out since Saturday, besides doing AM Yoga (which is only 10 minutes) today and Monday. I have to work out tonight, no choice. I have my 10 mile race coming up on Sunday and I don’t want to freak my body out! 🙂

Be back later!

2 Responses

  1. I think it’s interesting when people comment on how much food I eat…they have this misconception that since I lost a lot of weight, I must not eat. Or only eat salads. Weird…!

  2. Your lunch looks awesome! I love seeing the difference between x number of calories of junk vs x number of calories of health food. The difference is amazing!

Leave a Reply

