• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Baby Kale

Hello! Just a quick post because I am exhausted and want to try to sleep as much as possible tonight!

For an afternoon snack, I had a grapefruit:

My friend Lianne taught me to eat these just plain back in college, where you open the white part around each of the sections and just eat the pulp out. Before that, I had only ever eaten grapefruits cut in half with sugar or splenda on them with a spoon, but I love eating them straight, even if its a little barbaric. I definitely make sure no one’s looking if I eat them this way at my desk…

I made the trip to the farmer’s market after work but there were still not too many vendors there. I did pick up some arugula, baby kale, and apples. I got 2 pink lady and 2 fuji apples.. baby steps. 🙂 After getting home from the market, I was planning on going for a run but I am feeling pretty crappy. I am hoping that I wake up tomorrow feeling a lot better because I really cannot be sick this weekend!

The pollen here in DC is out of control. I have a glass table out on my balcony, and I just cleaned it off last night. Tonight, there was a thick layer of yellow pollen on it, so the table barely looks glass. We also had one of the windows open before they turned on the A/C and I just noticed that the couch by that window had a thick layer of pollen on it too! Crazy. I took some allergy meds tonight just in case this is a combo of sick and allergies.

My friend Amber came over for dinner tonight and my boyfriend happened to get off from work early, so we whipped up a quick, delicious dinner. I found baby kale at the farmer’s market, which I’ve never seen before. I looked it up and basically its kale that hasn’t matured all the way, so its a lot more tender than regular kale, so much so that you can eat it raw. I wanted to use the kale, so I ended up chopping it up, adding a can of garbanzo beans, and 2 cups of cooked couscous. I also added extra virgin olive oil, red wine and white vinegar, and salt and pepper, and mixed it all up. It turned out awesome and was really fresh and tasty.

To go with the couscous salad, Wil whipped up some falafel patties out of a box of falafel mix we had in the pantry. Amber was in charge of chopping up some yellow squash and garlic, and he put that into the mix with water, and then pan fried the patties. They were crispy, hot and delicious, and went perfectly with the couscous salad.

Here’s my plate:

x2. I ended up having 4 falafel patties and another scoop of the couscous salad. It was so tasty and light and I’m hoping all the nutrients in the kale blasts away whatever sickness is brewing inside me. 😉 Let’s hope it works.

Goodnight!!

4 Responses

  1. Yummy! I want to try the kale/couscous salad!

  2. Dinner was soooooooo GOOD last night. THANK YOU! And thanks for the shout out to my garlic chopping skillz. “It’s your job every time you come over now” – Wil 🙂

  3. i eat my grapefruit in the exact same way! it’s a mess. it takes me like, forever, and i make a huge mess. but it’s so worth it!

Leave a Reply

