• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Juice Joint (Again)

Hi! It’s funny how it can go from so hot you are sweating just thinking about being outside, to so chilly you need a coat from one day to the next. DC will do that to you. If you couldn’t guess, its quite cool here today and my body is having a hard time adjusting! After my morning bowl of oats, I had a pink lady apple for a snack.

I wasn’t even that hungry for it, but I had it on my desk and it kept looking at me, so I couldn’t resist. 😉 It was really good, sweeter than a fuji but still crunchy. Mmm.

I got to meet my friend Leah who is visiting from out of town for lunch, along with our friend Rachel (who’s also local). We were trying to decide where to go, so I suggested the Juice Joint Cafe.

It’s close to work, delicious and healthy. I’m always baffled by how long the line is every time I go, yet how quick the people at the registers tackle the line. I never wait for more than a few minutes to order or to get my meal. I was toying with the idea of going with my usual Mozzarella and Roasted Veggie Sandwich, but today I went out on a limb and tried something new. I got the Roasted Portabello and Red Pepper Wrap.

This has roasted portabello mushrooms, red peppers, and goat cheese and is tossed with mixed greens in balsamic vinaigrette. It comes on a wrap of your choice, and I went with the wheat.

It was as good as it looks and sounds! It was pretty big, but lots of veggies so I felt full but not uncomfortably so. I love goat cheese and red peppers and portabello mushrooms, so this wrap was pretty much made for me. 😉 And catching up with my friends involved a lot of talking so I ate pretty slow which is always a good thing. I also had a bottle of the bubbly poland spring that I love:

Mmm love this place!

Change of plans for tonight.. we’re going to cook dinner for my parents instead of eating at the restaurant because Wil actually has to help out there tomorrow night, so we’ll probably go tomorrow night instead. We’re going to do whole fish tonight so I have to run home after work, pick up some last minute things for dinner, and then run around and do some last minute cleaning around the apartment before they arrive. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

