• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Road to Recovery

Good morning! I think my road to recovery has begun. I’m still a little coughy and congested, but I woke up feeling a LOT better today than yesterday. My alarm went off at 7:15am and I turned it off, and woke up again feeling like 5 minutes had passed, and it was 8:19! I can’t tell you the last time that’s happened to me, but I must have needed it. Needless to say, time was very crunched this morning, so no AM yoga, run, or major lunch packing occurred. I had found a few of the Fage 0% greek yogurts on sale at the grocery store, so I grabbed one of those, an apple, and a grapefruit, and headed into work.

Luckily I have a mini grocery store at my desk and I had brought in a 1/2 cup rolled oats the other day when I wasn’t sure how good the overnight oats that had been soaking for 2 nights would be. I mixed the 1/2 cup rolled oats with the Fage (3/4 of a cup) and let it sit for about 10 minutes. Once that had sat for a bit, I added some ground flax, cinnamon, dates, and sliced almonds on top and tada:

\

Not too shabby for only having time to grab a yogurt out of the fridge, eh? I mixed all of this together so the toppings were spread throughout.

It was sooo good. It was pretty thick, but I prefer my oats/yogurt thicker rather than thinner. Mixing it all together spread the toppings all throughout so that each bite was a little different and delicious! I’m going to try to keep a few more bags of oats at my desk so that I can throw this together again in a pinch.

My parents are coming into town tonight, and two of my best friends from college are visiting too! I’m going to try to get lunch with them today and then going out to dinner with the rents later. Busy day and weekend ahead.

Happy Friday!!

2 Responses

  1. I love good sleeps like that! How are your battle wounds healing?

    • They’re fading a lot and no longer open, so hopefully theyll go away soon and it’ll look like nothing ever happened…. thanks for asking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

