• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Dinner with the ‘Rents

Good morning and Happy Saturday! Sorry I didn’t come back last night – – I was running around like crazy after work and then my parents didn’t leave our place until almost midnight so the night go away from me!

We had a really lovely dinner with them last night. I decided to make two dips, and then pick up some veggies and toasted bread for dipping.  Wil also bought some cheese to have in our appetizer spread.

I made a black bean dip and a cannellini bean spread. For each dip, I just mixed the ingredients together in the blender. The black bean dip had 1 can of black beans, 1 cup of cilantro, 1/2 cup salsa, 1/2 cup nonfat yogurt, 1 tsp cumin, and 1/4 tsp salt. The cannellini bean spread had 1 can of cannellini beans, 1 tbsp parsley, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp water, 2 tbsp red onion, 1 clove of garlic, salt and pepper. The two kinds of cheese we had were Goat Cheese Gouda and Aged Pecorino, and the veggies were cucumbers, baby carrots, celery, and broccoli. I loooove cheese and haven’t had cheese like this in a while, so it was much enjoyed.

Wil made everything for the main course. Here’s my plate:

This was a whole branzino fish, cooked in the oven with citrus, orzo, cooked with red pepper and shallots, and green beans blanched with red onions. It was an incredible meal! The fish was so moist it practically melted in my mouth and the citrus flavor really came through. The green beans were still a bit crisp and went so well with the dish, and the orzo was delicious. After this, we also had an unpictured arugula salad that I made, with fresh arugula from the farmers market. I added orange segments, and then made a citrus vinaigrette with grapefruit and lime juice, shallot, mustard, salt, pepper, and olive oil. For dessert, I chopped some strawberries and layered lemon and raspberry sorbet with the strawberries and some blackberries. I was stuffed at the end of the night, but in a very good way! 🙂

This morning I woke up and I’m feeling a lot better but still a bit stuffy/coughy. I wanted to have something with a lot of fruits and veggies to try to blast this away before my big run tomorrow, so I knew just what I wanted, a Green Monster.

This Green Monster had:

  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • 1 medium banana
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • Packet of Chocolate Amazing Grass (last one!)

To round out breakfast, I also had a toasted arnold thin with some dark chocolate peanut butter on it:

Yum! My parents are on their way over, and I’m going to give them the whole tour of our apartment building (the gym, rooftop, etc.) and then we’re going to go pick up my race packet and check out the expo there. 15,000 people are running in the race tomorrow so it’s going to be insane at packet pickup. I’ll check in later!

2 Responses

  1. Dinner looks amazing! I am amazed at you balancing your green monster and plate on the railing, I would have lost both haha. You have some serious skills 🙂

Leave a Reply

