• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Packet Pickup and Chef Geoff Tysons

Hi! Hope your weekend is going well so far – mine is! We went to the Health and Fitness Expo to pick up my race packet for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler and it was SO crowded. 15,000 people will be running the race tomorrow, so I guess that’s not too surprising. I bought some new running socks, some gel blocks, and a chaffing stick (no more battle wounds please!) and picked up my bib number, packet, and t-shirt. Surprisingly there was nothing cool in the rack packets except flyers about different upcoming races. I was expecting there to be some cool free stuff since its such a huge race… sad. Take a look at the crowds at the expo:

Other side:

After the expo, we went to Chef Geoff Tysons to have lunch.

Wil was working there, so treated us pretty well. 🙂 He first sent out some stuffed piquillo peppers which had manchego cheese and were marinated in olive oil.

I had one of these peppers. So good. After that we got a bread basket with crusty warm bread. It comes with a white bean dip with olive oil instead of butter or olive oil like most places, which I think is a nice touch.

I had one piece of bread and a little bit of the dip. Very similar to what we had at home last night, but I think I want to try to replicate this at home. They use roasted garlic so its so garlicy and delicious. A tiny amuse bouche was sent out before our main courses arrived:

This was roasted yellow beets with green beans and shallots. It had a light vinaigrette over it and was so fresh and tasty. I loooove beets. The veggie sandwich screamed out to me on the menu so I went with it.

This had grilled zucchini, hummus, feta, arugula, and tomato and came with mixed greens tossed in a champagne vinaigrette.

The veggies on it were so good and the focaccia bread the sandwich came on was really soft and tasty. We also got some sweet potato fries that my mom and I shared:

Mmm I love sweet potato fries! Everything was so good, and we glanced at the dessert menu but were so stuffed we couldn’t order anything. I did get a nonfat cappuccino to end the meal:

Quite a lunch, eh? I’m still feeling full from lunch, but we’re planning on having a light dinner tonight at a Vietnamese restaurant and doing a little shopping beforehand. It’s going to be an early night because my race starts at 7:30am tomorrow so I have to be up pretty early. I’m pretty nervous because being sick has caused me not to run since last Friday! This will be the longest race I’ve ever run, but I did run the full 10 miles two weeks ago today so I know my body can handle the distance.

I’ll check in later!

3 Responses

  1. Good luck on your race. You will do great!

  2. good luck tomorrow!!!

  3. Good luck and man. that sandwich looks great!

Leave a Reply

