• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Present

Hi! I’m going to make this quick because I want to get to bed so I can get some sleep before my race tomorrow!! Eek! I’m excited but getting nervous now that its very quickly approaching. We did a bit of shopping today (Costco, Target, etc) and after that, we had an amazing dinner, the best Vietnamese food I have had in a lonnng time (dare I say, ever?!) We went to this place called Present that I’ve been dying to try and it seriously blew me away. The wait staff was really friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, and the restaurant was packed, which is usually a good sign. We had to wait a little while for our table, but it was totally worth it. The menu was pretty extensive and I saw a ton of items I wanted to try, but there was a “Chef’s Recommendations” page at the end of the menu that had highlights from the whole menu. We decided just to stick with that part of the menu since that helped limit the choices somewhat and we didn’t know where to start! I had the spring rolls (shrimp only) to start:

These were delicious and really fresh. The sauce they came with was a little different than normal and just incredible. For my main course I got something called “Treasures from the Sea.” It was actually on the starter menu but was a dinner size. On the menu, it’s described as, “A salad made with fresh pineapple, julienned carrots, sweet onion, lemongrass, fried garlic, roasted peanut, tiger shrimp, and ivory calamari on a bed of half cut pineapple.” I love pineapple, shrimp, and calamari, so I figured this would be a good choice.

And boy was I right! I just wish I had eaten it a bit slower because it was so good but over so fast because I basically inhaled it! šŸ˜› The pineapple was perfectly ripe and the flavor of the salad was just amazing. It also came with those rice crackers that are fried, that were perfect for eating the salad off of. Ah I seriously can’t even convey how out of this world this was. I cannot wait to go back because there are so many other things on the menu I want to try! The presentations of everything we saw come out of the kitchen were just gorgeous. Down to the little details…

Like the white radish flower that was on my plate next to the half pineapple the salad was served in. So, so good! I think I found my new favorite Vietnamese restaurant!

Off to bed!! Be back tomorrow after I’m done the race!! Eek!

2 Responses

  1. That salad looks to die for, love the presentation!

    Good luck on your race today!

  2. I love spring rolls and those look great!

Leave a Reply

