• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Feeling Good!

Good morning and Happy Monday! I’m glad to say that I slept like a baby last night and only woke up coughing one time, so I’m feeling better today. Also, I am feeling surprisingly great after yesterday’s run! I was nervous I’d way up really sore and stiff today since I hadn’t run for 8 days before the race, but I’m feeling really good. I am a little tight in my hamstrings and my shoulders (what?!) so I might try to do some yoga later to stretch out and loosen up.

I got my official race time from yesterday, which is 1hour, 41 minutes, 2 seconds. This is a 10min7second pace, which is slower than I usually go but, I’m fine with it. I think I could have gone faster with less people running, not having stopped to use the bathroom and tie my shoe, and if I had slept a bit more, but it is what it is! I’m happy I was able to run 10 miles and finished 1662/2792 women in my age division. I’m thinking about finding a half marathon to run sometime soon while I have the mileage built up. One of my goals for this year is to run one, so I’m on the lookout for one in May or June. I found one May 2nd that I’m toying with the idea of signing up for… I’ll keep you guys posted.

Breakfast today was back to overnight oats, which I haven’t had in a while now! I was out of bananas, so I just made this mix with 1/2 cup rolled oats and a little under 1/2 cup each of plain nonfat yogurt and skim milk.

I topped it with cinnamon, sliced almonds, and fiber one. I also had two sliced up kiwis on the side:

This meal completely held me over until lunch, which is a good thing in my book!

My fridge is full of a lot of random groceries because of leftovers from cooking Friday and the trip to Costco, but none of them really go together. I’m going to try to make it through with minimal grocery trips this week (must get bananas and spinach, though!) so you might be seeing some really random meals thrown together this week. 🙂

Starting with my lunch. The star of it was a sandwich made with a toasted bagel thin, laughing cow cheese, a Morningstar Farms Turk’y Griller, and some of the baby kale from the Farmer’s market.

I also heated the leftover green beans from Friday night:

And had leftover cucumbers (also from Friday night) with salsa:

Pretty random, but the meal as a whole really worked. I really like those Turk’y Grillers, probably the best of any of the meatless burgers I’ve tried. It goes well with the Laughing Cow cheese, and some greens for bulk never hurt anybody. The baby kale is so good because I love that you can eat it raw since its so tender, and its a nice change from spinach or other greens that I have on the regular. Yum!

Back to work for me. Hope your week is off to a good start!

Leave a Reply

